Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2001, 05:29 PM
boutwell boutwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Birmingham, Al USA
Posts: 18
Default lock ups on 5.1

does anybody else have a problem with "disk allocation" or "import" functions????
I've crashed so hard so many times that I feel like Dale Earnhardt....
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2001, 07:19 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,538
Default Re: lock ups on 5.1

I have not experienced any crashes when accessing the Disk Allocation and/or Import Audio windows.

-What errors, if any, are you getting?

-What are the specs of your system (computer, Mac OS, hardware, drives, format utility, etc)?

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2001, 07:35 AM
iamstudios iamstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Leiden, ZH, Netherlands
Posts: 434
Default Re: lock ups on 5.1

Yep,

Had problems importing audio too. When I took off our SCSI-chain and put it back on the problem was solved... it almost seemed to be a termination-problem, as PT searches for drives when you import.

Anyway...my 2 cents.

Barnier
__________________
i am studios b.v.
www.iam-studios.com
audio post production. music composition. sound design
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2001, 09:40 AM
boutwell boutwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Birmingham, Al USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: lock ups on 5.1

System profile:
Blue G3
400 MHz
6 gig HD (partitioned 3/3)
256 mb RAM
MixPlus
888/24 interface
USD
Sample Cell II TDM
Magma 7 slot
twin 9 gig Cheetas
Glyph DVD-RAM/CDR unit

Installed 5.1 software - experienced intermittent system lock-ups with the following prompts:
"error type 41", "time synchronizer", "Kensington Startup", "Folder Actions", "EM Extensions"

This would happen mostly when working with disk allocation and import functions - though not every time. System could be revived by re-booting until finally it would not come back to life. We re-installed MAC OS 9 last nite and today it seems to be working.
Any ideas ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2001, 04:32 PM
boutwell boutwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Birmingham, Al USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: lock ups on 5.1

OK, now I'm back to crashing pretty regularly... mostly with the import audio function involved....there seems to be a notion here that there is an issue with some of the extensions....are there any basic rules to extensions conflicts with 5.1 ? Perhaps a set of "do's " and "don't's"?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2001, 09:45 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,538
Default Re: lock ups on 5.1

If you suspect an extension conflict:
-Open the Extensions Manager Control Panel. From the selected set pop-up menu, select “OS 9.x base” click on “Duplicate Set" at the bottom of the window. Name the set whatever you like. Enable the following extensions and restart the computer:
-Digidesign Control Panel
-DigiSystem INIT
-Digidesign Direct I/O (required with DSI 5.0.1 and later)
-Digidesign DSP Manager
-Digidesign Stream Manager (only if using DirectConnect)
-Open Music System
-USB Floppy Enabler

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2001, 01:22 PM
Mystery Machine Mystery Machine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5
Default Re: lock ups on 5.1

correction
are you using DVD-Ram tune up by Software
Arch.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2001, 01:34 PM
boutwell boutwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Birmingham, Al USA
Posts: 18
Default Re: lock ups on 5.1

yep...DVD RAM Tune Up by Software Architecture...you think this is significant ?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2001, 12:19 AM
Mystery Machine Mystery Machine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5
Default Re: lock ups on 5.1

Same problem with import functions and
type 2 errors

9600 with newer G3/400
Digidesign 13 slot Exp.
Mixplus & 2 Mixfarms &3 DSP farms
Digi/Atto 64 SCSI card
192 Meg
3 Nine gig ultra/LVD Cheetah
Internal SCSI DVD Ram
USD
Studio3/Studio 128x
3 Ixmicro video cards (9600)
system 9.0.4 and 9.1

I always run extensions at the minimum.
Always ran 64 tracks no problem for months without restart with 5.0.1
I don't know how many more extensions i can turn
off
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-08-2001, 12:25 AM
Mystery Machine Mystery Machine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5
Default Re: lock ups on 5.1

I notice both our systems have DVD-Ram
what our you using for DVD software
SoftARC ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Num Lock? WorkingEngineer ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 8 07-05-2004 07:55 AM
LOCK UP!!!!!!!! dwdrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-26-2002 11:56 AM
To Lock or Not....NOT stunningfuture 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-03-2001 12:54 AM
can i lock pt le to mtc? audioworks 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 11-17-2000 09:28 PM
HELP...PT won't lock to LTC skidd Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 02-13-2000 11:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com