Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-23-2019, 06:41 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 388
Default Re: Upgrade path too expensive

If you’re a “hobby user” then switch to GarageBand and stop complaining about having to pay for software in order to use it. Avid has a resource for users like you. It’s called the Monthly Subscription plan. 29.99/ month. Rent it for 3 months and there is your $90 upgrade path for the few times you use it.

https://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductD...&sku=DYNA20000
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-23-2019, 09:48 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,152
Default Re: Upgrade path too expensive

Quote:
Originally Posted by starburst View Post
Sardi, I stand corrected, upgrade from version 2 to 3 comes to me with a 65% discount. I did get a free upgrade from 1 to 2 and as I said, it's 5 or 6 years ago when I purchased version 1 so I cannot complain.

Yes, I could look at doing a dual boot. Do you know of any guides on how to do that? How do you get an old version of Mac OS?
Partitioning is what you want and it's all done in OSX disk utility. Google for how to do it. As for older OSX versions you may have them in your AppStore account. Another way to get certain ones is via Amazon - some they have on dvd and some on a bootable thumb drive. And for the love of all that is holy do NOT use Migration Assassin to bring programs and such over. Install from fresh. Just for grins I tried the Apple Way and used MA on top of that and it was a disaster.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-23-2019, 10:18 AM
starburst starburst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 176
Default Re: Upgrade path too expensive

Thanks, Musicman. I'll have a look into this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Least expensive HD upgrade path? V5V Pro Tools 12 14 03-16-2017 01:17 PM
PT 11 HDX upgrade Too Expensive right now Avgerinos General Discussion 14 06-19-2014 10:21 AM
Just upgrade from PT9 to 10 : No perf improvement: not worth 299$ too expensive !!! klyg Pro Tools 10 20 10-31-2011 06:09 PM
upgrade path greenroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-20-2000 04:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com