Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:15 AM
Greg C Greg C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 131
Default Re: SPDIF to AES on SC48

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikingthor View Post
i use on a daily basis the digital out of venue to soundweb, never had any problem. and it makes a huge improvement on the audio.
I'm running my SC48 into my XTA DP448 processor AES with no issues. The less A to D/D to A conversions in the chain, the better. I'm also running my Trashcam CD-RW700 AES I/O to the desk with no problems.

Greg
__________________
Cameron Pro Audio

Exclusively at the Miners Foundry
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:16 AM
Sheldon Radford's Avatar
Sheldon Radford Sheldon Radford is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 1,293
Default Re: SPDIF to AES on SC48

One more note on sample rate conversion (SRC)...

SRC can of course be used to convert from one sample rate to another (e.g., 48k to 96k, or vice versa), but it's also useful even when the two devices are at the same sample rate.

Even though two digital devices operate at the same sample rate, there is no guarantee that their digital clocks are in perfect synch. In fact, they almost never are. When devices are connected at the same sample rate but their clocks are out of synch you will hear audio, but with periodic clicks and pops. One approach to synching the digital clocks between devices is to use a physical clock connection, like a word clock.

SRC - even if it's not changing the sample rate - mitigates the need for the word clock connection by re-synchronizing the incoming audio at the receiving end. The net result is that the two devices are operating at the same sample rate, and even though their digital clocks may be out of synch with each other the resulting audio is free of clicks and pops.


Sheldon
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-15-2012, 09:33 PM
Kenmillerjr's Avatar
Kenmillerjr Kenmillerjr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 597
Default Re: SPDIF to AES on SC48

I find myself using the digital I/O of the VENUE's quite regularly, with no problems or issues thus far (fingers crossed). MAXX- I raised an eyebrow when I read your first post...it kind of scared me...knowing the impedance difference and level differences between AES and S/PDIF. Not something I would have tried myself...without using a converter between the two.

Let us know if you find a working solution. I'm with Sheldon...I think if you put a S/PDIF to AES converter in line, everything will work just fine. If not, I'd look to getting a true AES output CD deck or going analog. I wish the iPod's had a S/PDIF or AES output =)
__________________
Ken Miller, Jr.
Audio Engineer
Southside Baptist Church | Warner Robins, GA

| VENUE Profile 96X64 with MADI Option | ProTools 7.4.2 HD3 Accel PCI | ProTools 10 Native | MacBook Pro 17" OS 10.7.1 2.3GHz Intel Core i7 8GB Ram | Mbox 2 Pro | Mbox 3 Pro | Motu 896mk3 Hybrid |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProFire 2626: SPDIF COAX & SPDIF OPTICAL Simultaneous success!!! WHAAAA HAPPENED??? cueball73 macOS 0 05-22-2012 12:41 PM
mono like sound from spdif out (GA-EX58-UD3R) to spdif in (Omni ) chrisdee Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 9 04-02-2012 05:10 AM
Spdif RCA to Spdif Optical conversion - degradation?? Hollow Body 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-17-2011 08:21 AM
Digi 96io - can you mix Optical SPDIF and phono SPDIF? buckaroo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 08-24-2009 11:20 AM
Echo Mia W/ SPDIF also does RCA style SPDIF cause the same crashes as optical?? Paul_m 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-16-2003 05:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com