Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 09-26-2009, 08:50 AM
CamM CamM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 68
Default Re: C24/002 or c24 HD1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedro perez View Post
Aurora,apogee,M-audio?

were do we go from here?


Personally I'd spend that £5k on a [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep]ing good hooker
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 10-02-2009, 05:31 PM
ilulilu888 ilulilu888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Dreamland
Posts: 304
Default Re: C24/002 or c24 HD1?

you people are killing me.....how can any one say LE is better then HD1...?
i guess you may not tried it out.....dont get me wrong - LE with a strong Cpu and lots of ram - is a Killer machine , but:

48 tracks vs 96 tracks

32bus vs 128 bus (you can't mix with 32 bus)

ADC!!!!!! vs Lots of Delay....

much better sound quality....Hands down

better stability!!!! hands down

no matter what LE system you will built....you will never get more then you'll get with an LE.....
__________________
Pro Tools 12HD
HDX 1
Avid HD 8x8x8
Avid Omni HD
MacPro 2.4 Xeon 8 core 24Giga
UAD-2 And most of the UAD plugins
All AAX DSP and Native Plugins (all most)
Tons of Hardware...:)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 10-25-2009, 08:48 PM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 304
Default Re: C24/002 or c24 HD1?

i guess for now i will stay 002/C24 it gets the job done, so i get to see the LE to HD1"$4,995" deal pass me by, but mainly by reading what you ppl are saying ..all i really would get w HD1 is ADC.....
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 10-25-2009, 09:15 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: C24/002 or c24 HD1?

Well of course its ur money, ur choices, etc. jus sayin
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 10-27-2009, 08:04 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,646
Default Re: C24/002 or c24 HD1?

48 tracks vs 96 tracks depends on what you are recording. 48 tracks are plenty for the pop/rock/country music I record and produce.

32bus vs 128 bus (you can't mix with 32 bus) Once again, depends on what you are working on. In 5 years, I have used up all 32 busses one time. Sometimes a DAW gives you too many options. Remember that Yes's FRAGILE album was done on a 16 track(never mind the fab four). No I am not confusing tracks with busses, just thinking that they likely had 6 auxes on that analog desk).

ADC!!!!!! vs Lots of Delay....Absolutely NOT an issue for me. I choose my plugins carefully and don't give it a thought(but I will be happy when ADC is included in LE).

much better sound quality....Hands down Totally depending on the interface and recording chain(mic/pre/converter). A 96IO to HD sounds the same as the 003 to LE.

better stability!!!! hands down I work on my own LE/PC system and a friend's pro-preconfigured Mac Pro HD3 system. The HD rig crashes way more often(and its repeatable).

no matter what LE system you will built....you will never get more then you'll get with an LE.....True, but its not a problem for many of us.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-16-2009, 06:55 PM
Pedro perez Pedro perez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Escondido Ca
Posts: 304
Default Re: C24/002 or c24 HD1?

can you really compare LE w total extortion toolkit to HD1?????
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-16-2009, 08:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,646
Default Re: C24/002 or c24 HD1?

Can you really keep beating this dead horse? How many chimed in on this thread saying that HD1 is way under powered? How many of those people have been running Pro Tools for several years? Do you REALLY need the CPTK? How much wood can a woodchuck chuck? If you think having HD1 gives you bragging rights, then go ahead and waste your money. I'll keep right on working on my LE system, making money with it, and NOT spending 5 times as much for half the ultimate performance
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-16-2009, 08:57 PM
stainless stainless is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posts: 561
Default Re: C24/002 or c24 HD1?

please explain "give the band their own cue mix"

I'm on Control 24 and LE and I can get several cues to the headphones if i need to (limited to 4 because I'm using a Presonus headphone amp, though up to now 3 mixes is the most I've needed.... it's usually "more me"
__________________
Stainless - G5 2.3x2, 5 GB RAM, 1.5TB, OSX 10.5.x and 8.0 002R/D8, MC Control/MC Mix, etc, etc, etc
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-16-2009, 10:32 PM
Keybeeetsss's Avatar
Keybeeetsss Keybeeetsss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Memphis
Posts: 8,759
Default Re: C24/002 or c24 HD1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pedro perez View Post
can you really compare LE w total extortion toolkit to HD1?????
Get HD1... Le with the total extortion kit sucks; thatz why I & others use it in pro ways... U started this in September... Just get what ur gonna get...
__________________
MYSPACE ON'EIM
LAUTEN MICS & ME
DA'TUBE ON'EIM

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com