Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-18-2012, 12:42 PM

Default Protools 10 HDX installed, no sound from computer

Hello all. Newbie here. I had a Logic system with an Apogee Rossetta until yesterday. I just had Protools 10 HDX installed and now I can't hear any of the regular computer sounds (iTunes, you tube, etc.) from the speakers like I used to with the Apogee. I hear the protools music fine, but none of the regular computer sounds. I tried to reach the company that installed it but they are closed on the weekends.

I tried going to system prefs and under "sound" tried and tried every option but the only time I get sound is if I choose "internal speakers" and then it sounds like it is coming out of a hearing aid inside the Mac Pro tower.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thank you
Old 08-18-2012, 01:13 PM

Default Re: Protools 10 HDX installed, no sound from computer

What I/O...?
Pro Tools needs to be off for core audio manager to work (HD card systems)
If you have an Omni you can rout Mac audio via digital (If your using the monitor aspect of the omni).
This is such a flaw that's been around and discussed deeply.
Old 08-18-2012, 01:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
What I/O...?
Pro Tools needs to be off for core audio manager to work (HD card systems)
If you have an Omni you can rout Mac audio via digital (If your using the monitor aspect of the omni).
This is such a flaw that's been around and discussed deeply.
OK, thank you. I have the AVID I/O unit.