Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2004, 04:02 PM
DC11 DC11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 52
Default DSP Card and Farm Card: How much more Power?

I've got a Mix + system and would like to add more power for plug-ins. Is it worth getting another farm card, or will a DSP Farm card be enough. I can't find any info as to how much power you get with these cards. I figure it's easier for me to get a couple of DSP's cause I could get a couple now, the a couple later.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2004, 05:18 PM
Lee Blaske Lee Blaske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN U.S.A.
Posts: 3,625
Default Re: DSP Card and Farm Card: How much more Power?

Back when they were being marketed, I seem to recall that the Mix Farm was said to be approximately equal to three DSP Farm Cards. In practice, it wasn't as clear cut, because not all of the Mix Farm chips could run all of the plug-ins.

Lee Blaske
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2004, 06:52 PM
Chief Technician's Avatar
Chief Technician Chief Technician is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,981
Default Re: DSP Card and Farm Card: How much more Power?

MIX and DSP Farm RAM explanation.

This card only has one type of RAM for all four chips (MIX cards have six chips and three types of RAM). If you've got plugs that will run on this card, then it frees up MIX chips to run the plugs that the DSP Farm cannot.

The DSP Farm is incompatible with the G5 (physical characteristics).
__________________
Jonathan S. Abrams, CEA, CEV, CBNT
Apple Certified - Technical Coordinator (v10.5), Support Professional (v10.6 through v10.10)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2004, 07:35 PM
DC11 DC11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 52
Default Re: DSP Card and Farm Card: How much more Power?

Thanks alot. That helped alot. I've foundeded my solution.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT Mix - Power Card? Questions - It's a Mix Core labeled Power Card Table Syrup Records Digidesign Hardware & Software 13 12-02-2013 04:30 PM
MIX Farm Power Card *DELETED* Siegfried Meier Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-16-2005 07:02 PM
32 outs with a d24 card and a mix farm card MOONMAN Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-07-2005 10:26 AM
processing power QE farm card vs. mix farm card lennox Digidesign Hardware & Software 3 03-03-2003 03:24 PM
Will PTIII IO card work w/o farm card? copywell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-14-2001 06:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com