Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2016, 06:12 AM
Matthew Steel Matthew Steel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 102
Default Mix Rack to Dante?

We are replacing our installed sound from the processors to the speakers, but keeping our Mix Rack.

We have been feeding the system processor from an analog out on the Mix Rack, but the new processor has the option of a Dante card as well as analog so I'm investigating the option of going digital from the console.

Although the new generation of Venue has Dante cards available, I don't see any direct Dante for the Mix Rack ever happening. So the best option I've found for staying digital is to use the AES outputs on our IOx card to go to something like the Focusrite RedNet D16 AES and then go Dante to the processor.

This seems like more hassle and expense than it is worth just to save one trip to analog and back. Are there any options I'm missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2016, 07:25 AM
Karel Noon Karel Noon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Posts: 247
Default Re: Mix Rack to Dante?

You could go from AVB to Madi with a Pivitec or Motu device and from there to Dante, I have the Pivitec running on my S3L System
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2016, 10:47 AM
Amplitude Amplitude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Copenhagen
Posts: 95
Default Re: Mix Rack to Dante?

But a Mixrack don't has AVB ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2016, 12:08 PM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 276
Default Re: Mix Rack to Dante?

AES to Dante is probably your best bet, with something like a Focusrite D16, or the K-Array K Dante (which if you haven't checked out, is a pretty cool little unit, but that's actually Dante to AES output only)
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2016, 10:47 AM
Matthew Steel Matthew Steel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 102
Default Re: Mix Rack to Dante?

Thanks for the input. Whether we spend the money to stay digital may depend on whether we need to run any additional lines from FOH to the amp room.

I mostly wanted to make sure I wasn't missing anything obvious like a poorly advertised Dante card :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2016, 08:48 AM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 276
Default Re: Mix Rack to Dante?

Do you have a MADI card in your system? There are also plenty of affordable MADI to AVB or MADI to Dante solutions
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-03-2016, 07:31 AM
Matthew Steel Matthew Steel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 102
Default Re: Mix Rack to Dante?

No, we do not already have a MADI card, so that doesn't sound like a cost effective option.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2016, 05:54 AM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: Mix Rack to Dante?

What about the DiGiCo Orange Box?

I've been looking at it for Dante to Waves SoundGrid.

Not available yet, but should be any minute.

Pretty slick, can swap cards out for different configs.

I need MADI and Dante to SoundGrid - and the orange box could cover those bases. Lets me get my SoundGrid Server in to pretty much anything out there....

Worth a look.
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Native and Dante JCBigler Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 11 12-10-2013 01:01 AM
Dante issues with PT 10 AnthonyDW macOS 3 10-08-2012 03:48 PM
Venue and Dante bnmohr VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 03-31-2012 12:53 PM
Protool 9 with Dante JCBigler Pro Tools 9 3 09-05-2011 07:43 PM
Audinate Dante and PT9 njrsound macOS 1 04-25-2011 08:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com