Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2019, 05:31 AM
jkess jkess is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 109
Default Question on drive allocation practices with modern systems. (SSD vs DAE errors)

I am about to enter the world of a new and modern laptop for remote work. My last laptop was a 2011 MBP 17" and I treated that as I have always treated my studio computers: Startup drive for software, another drive (internal optical drive bay) for sample libraries, and an external drive for writing to. I am wondering with current bus speeds on modern motherboards, plus SSD speeds is it necessary to run things on multiple drives? Is there anything to be gained or lost partitioning the MBP's drive if running of a 4TB NVMe?

Thanks for your help.

Josh
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2019, 05:41 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,786
Default Re: Question on drive allocation practices with modern systems. (SSD vs DAE errors)

Nope!

If you have a sizeble harddrive SSD inside a MacBook Pro new ones you can record to the internal drive no doubt without partitioning anything.

I would get a 7200rpm 2-3GB or larger WD Caviar Black and keep sample libraries on as they take up a lot of space and they always works great on spinners as long as it is atleast 7200rpm 64MB Cache and min 9ms seentime like the WDC Black. No green or blue power saving crap. Make sure you fit that spinner in a USB3 or USB3.1 casing or thunderbolt case.

Let us know if need anything more. You will be able to record to that internal drive as it is CRAZY fast so no worries there.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2019, 06:13 AM
jkess jkess is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 109
Default Re: Question on drive allocation practices with modern systems. (SSD vs DAE errors)

Thanks for the input...thats super great.

Pretty sure I will opt for a 4tb version and keeping samples in it with that much space should be no problem. External drives will be for backup only.

Very happy...thanks man!!


:)))
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2019, 10:54 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,398
Default Re: Question on drive allocation practices with modern systems. (SSD vs DAE errors)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
Nope!

If you have a sizeble harddrive SSD inside a MacBook Pro new ones you can record to the internal drive no doubt without partitioning anything.

I would get a 7200rpm 2-3GB or larger WD Caviar Black and keep sample libraries on as they take up a lot of space and they always works great on spinners as long as it is atleast 7200rpm 64MB Cache and min 9ms seentime like the WDC Black. No green or blue power saving crap. Make sure you fit that spinner in a USB3 or USB3.1 casing or thunderbolt case.

Let us know if need anything more. You will be able to record to that internal drive as it is CRAZY fast so no worries there.
I can vouch for the durability of WD Black drives - I have a pair of 4 TB spinners in my 2012 MacPro - one for samples and one for sessions. Be aware of so-called 'enterprise' drives. When I was researching drives I ran into some that would sleep at some interval known only to the drive.


Also there's no need to partition the system drive for recording to or having samples on. Just create extra folders.


Something not mentioned is to have an external drive with a clone backup of your functioning system. It will save your hide for when things turn to the Dark Side. I have separate external drives - one for the system, one for samples and one for sessions. 7200 rpm spinners all.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2019, 11:11 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,983
Default Re: Question on drive allocation practices with modern systems. (SSD vs DAE errors)

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Be aware of so-called 'enterprise' drives. When I was researching drives I ran into some that would sleep at some interval known only to the drive.
All spinning hard drives since somewhere in the early 2000s (2005?) have been regulated by EU and US regulation to have to sleep (it is firmware coded and non-defeatable). All spinning hard drive manufacturers have to adhere to this.

Accessing the drive in regular intervals keeps those drives running/awake (there are utilities to do this.)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.6, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-18-2019, 12:56 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,398
Default Re: Question on drive allocation practices with modern systems. (SSD vs DAE errors)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
All spinning hard drives since somewhere in the early 2000s (2005?) have been regulated by EU and US regulation to have to sleep (it is firmware coded and non-defeatable). All spinning hard drive manufacturers have to adhere to this.

Accessing the drive in regular intervals keeps those drives running/awake (there are utilities to do this.)
I have a bunch of spinners that don't sleep. The externals I use for backups don't sleep nor do the WD blacks I have sleep. If the drives sleep then why does Apple have a setting in OSX preferences to not let drives sleep?


edit for additional:
There's no utility needed to keep a hard drive from sleeping. This first link is for Windows:
https://smallbusiness.chron.com/disa...ive-49293.html
Says for Seagate drives but it should work for all drives on a Windows system
And this link is for Macs:
http://www.thexlab.com/faqs/harddrivesleep.html


Note that drives may have to have the ability to sleep but are not required to do so. I could find nothing via Google that says a drive MUST sleep.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 08-18-2019 at 02:48 PM. Reason: additional supporting info for my assertion
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PTLE Buffer errors-different systems Headpud1066 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-03-2008 09:42 AM
Disc Allocation errors with 7.4 Upgrade u182155 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-04-2007 06:31 PM
help: Disk allocation errors (w/ LaCie) thepress Storage Subsystems 1 12-28-2005 09:56 AM
Disc Allocation when transferring session from drive to drive... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-17-2003 03:37 PM
PCI Farm cards in Mix systems DAE errors? Hebes_in_Sydney Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-12-2002 07:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com