Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-25-2012, 06:59 PM
Robmoragas Robmoragas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5
Default 5.1 to Stereo conflicting information

Hi There,

I am trying to get a technically correct answer to this question.

What is the Correct Ratio and DB of each Audio Channel from 5.1 to Stereo and is there a quick way or a good plug in that does it in pro tools rather than using buses?

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-25-2012, 07:05 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: 5.1 to Stereo conflicting information

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ghlight=maggot

will this help
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2012, 01:01 AM
Jacksonland Jacksonland is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles CA
Posts: 60
Default Re: 5.1 to Stereo conflicting information

Rob, What I use is the Neyrinck SoundCode Stereo LtRt. Some adjust to taste, but the default settings are considered standard.
I set the L&R to 0, Center to -3, Ls and Rs to -3. You can also add LFE if you want, like I do (-3), or leave it off -144, as many like to do. PL2 is a great setting for a really clean downmix conversion. They also have a new product: http://www.neyrinck.com/en/products/...de-stereo-ltrt
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2013, 02:07 PM
SZE SZE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 87
Default Re: 5.1 to Stereo conflicting information

Hi

Can anyone confirm if it is necessary to phase reverse the surround channels when doing a 5.1 to stereo downmix using busses/auxes.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2013, 09:26 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: 5.1 to Stereo conflicting information

Quote:
Originally Posted by SZE View Post
Hi

Can anyone confirm if it is necessary to phase reverse the surround channels when doing a 5.1 to stereo downmix using busses/auxes.

Thanks
You need to be clear whether your generating an Lo/Ro or Lt/Rt. If you're generating a 2 track that is intended for a dolby pro logic decoder then you do need to rotate the phase of the surrounds +/- 90. If you're generating an Lo/Ro then do not rotate the phase.

As to the rest of your question, there is no perfect formula for downmixing from 5.1. Results depend completely on the surround mix; typical values for center foldown are anywhere from -1.5dB to -3dB, and surrounds can be anywhere from 0dB to -6dB depending on the content and whether the original 5.1 was mixed to theatrical (surrounds back -3dB on monitor) or home (surrounds even with fronts). Even within the same mix, different instruments will downmix differently. AFA LFE content: again depends a bit on the specifics; in general the LFE is an 'effects' channel and should not be in the downmix, but many music mixers use the LFE for dramatic musical effect and it can sometimes be part of the musical intent of the mixer, in which case it's nice to have it in the downmix - personally in general, I'd stay away from it. A downmix is a quick and dirty way of generating a 2 track from a 5.1 mix, but really a 5.1 mix and a stereo mix are different beasts; in an ideal world they would be generated separately, but that's just not practical in the real world.

best,
rich

best,
rich
__________________
rich@richbreen.com
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Separating Track information from a stereo mix (NOT KARAOKEE) Ale Tips & Tricks 4 09-15-2008 04:11 PM
The CPU conflicting error starburst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-23-2007 08:44 AM
CPU Conflicting Drama????????Please Help. rotors 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-22-2006 05:06 AM
CPU Buffer Issues - Conflicting with other??? jordan23 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-09-2003 05:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com