Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2007, 10:24 PM
akakpaws akakpaws is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 231
Default Where Can I Get Knobs to Replace Missing Knobs on 002R?

I recently bought an "out-of-the-box" Digi 002R from Guitar Center, Oakland, CA. The unit was missing several knobs on the front panel. At the time of purchase they promised to order the replacement knobs, but so far I have only recieved excuses when I inquire. Any suggestions how I can replace the missing knobs? Are these sold by Digidesign? Are these knobs fairly standard and can be purchased at an electronics store?

Thanks Anyone
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2007, 11:47 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,669
Default Re: Where Can I Get Knobs to Replace Missing Knobs on 002R?

You can find those knobs on the webstore under Services > Spares. Should be on the second page.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-03-2007, 07:08 PM
Barnabas Barnabas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 966
Default Re: Where Can I Get Knobs to Replace Missing Knobs on 002R?

It might be cheaper to buy some gumdrops from a candy store and mash them on the pots.

Seriously, if they don't have to look like the originals, the hole in the knob that mates to the potentiometer shaft is fairly standard. You might find some knobs from an old piece of electronics that might work. Check with a local equipment repair company. They might have a box of old knobs they might let you look through. Knobs from old mixing consoles, or even the volume control from old TVs might work.
__________________
www.barnabas.com Barnabas MultiMedia
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2007, 05:56 AM
superpenguin79 superpenguin79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 4,783
Default Re: Where Can I Get Knobs to Replace Missing Knobs on 002R?

Ebay?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2007, 08:47 PM
Pepo Pepo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 165
Default Re: Where Can I Get Knobs to Replace Missing Knobs on 002R?

Yes, I saw some on ebay.
Im going to replace the original ones in my 002r because they are too deep in size and its easy to hurt the potentiometers when you take it on the road. I dont know why they made them so tall.
Many knobs have a screw so you can adjust them to diferent pots.
Pepo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace Missing Knobs on Digi 002R akakpaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-20-2012 03:18 PM
PC main unit w/ clicky knobs want smooth knobs Brandonx1 ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 10-20-2008 11:34 AM
Digi 003 replacement knobs (003 knobs suck) volta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-27-2007 02:25 PM
003 Knobs zombie69 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 03-24-2007 01:14 AM
002R noisy pre-amp knobs Moz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 16 01-12-2006 10:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com