Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2015, 03:22 PM
Hugh-H Hugh-H is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 192
Default Suggestion - Avid's site problems have cost me

Hello,

We've upgraded 6 PT systems to the yearly licensing oddness and I'm feeling slightly ripped off due to Avid's site purchasing problems. It's not a huge deal for us but I suspect there will be a bit of complaining as more folks figure it out. I therefore have a suggestion for Avid.

Details -
We all have to jump on before the end of 2015 or it costs us more. With the extraordinarily large number of licensing problems on Avid's purchasing site I made the decision to do it substantially earlier than the end of 2015 because I don't trust the process and fully expect Avid's site to have major issues late in December from the crush of renewals. Our licenses are now renewed for a year and expire a year from now. Not the end of 2016, but a year from when I renewed them.
This is to be expected, it's a yearly renewal. However I don't trust the site (and indeed my first three PTHD licenses did not go through immediately) and since these are production machines we need them to always work. So I felt the need to renew early and my penalty for being responsible is I've lost 1.5 months of licensing cost. Not a huge deal but then what happens next year? I sincerely doubt I can wait until the day of renewal, Avid's site has shown that a statistically significant number of licenses do not function when renewed. That means each year I lose at minimum a few weeks of licensing money.

Suggestion -
Too late this year due to the logistics of changing it, but for next year Avid should encourage folks to renew early and have the expiration be a year from the current license. Otherwise everyone will wait until the last minute and there will be problems, and if folks are responsible and renew early they're penalized.

Sincerely,
Hugh
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2015, 11:45 PM
jesele jesele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 183
Default Re: Suggestion - Avid's site problems have cost me

+1
Yes of course it should be a year from when the current license expire.(Like Waves)
I'm in the same position, Don't trust that I will get notified so also plan to update early. You always get punished for updating early, Should be the other way around.
I still haven't got my PT plan (bonus plugins) for one of my accounts after 2 months, and I have a support case going, so to trust Avid's license database, don't think so. With Avid, it's a constant fear for the next disaster to appear.

Jesper
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 8-core, 24 GB, OS X.12.6, HDX, HD i/o 8x8x8 + HD i/o 16 digital + Metric Halo ULN 8 + RME Fireface 800
http://vicc.se
http://jesperelen.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2015, 03:45 AM
kurt's Avatar
kurt kurt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsingborg - Sweden
Posts: 674
Default Re: Suggestion - Avid's site problems have cost me

My 10-11 HDn license is walid from 16 January 2015. When I upgraded it to PT HDn 12 last month, AVID took without mercy or thank you 1/4 of my money. Is this legal?
__________________
MBP early 2011. Apple MacPro 5.1 12Core ”Westmere”. DeckLink HD Extreme 3D+. OS X10.10.5
PTN|10-11. PTN|HD|10-11-12. 16 x 16 HD I/O - 16 x 16 192 I/O Lots of gear.

http://www.mmvstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2015, 05:13 AM
jesele jesele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 183
Default Re: Suggestion - Avid's site problems have cost me

Can't be.

Jesper
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 8-core, 24 GB, OS X.12.6, HDX, HD i/o 8x8x8 + HD i/o 16 digital + Metric Halo ULN 8 + RME Fireface 800
http://vicc.se
http://jesperelen.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-21-2015, 04:42 PM
Jerry.VC Jerry.VC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 77
Default Re: Suggestion - Avid's site problems have cost me

BUMP
__________________
15" Mid 2014 Retina MacBook Pro i7 2.2ghz 16gb Ram 256 Flash
Pro Tools 12.6 11R
EQP-WA, WA76, Daking Mic Pre One
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-21-2015, 05:02 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,853
Default Re: Suggestion - Avid's site problems have cost me

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurt View Post
My 10-11 HDn license is walid from 16 January 2015. When I upgraded it to PT HDn 12 last month, AVID took without mercy or thank you 1/4 of my money. Is this legal?
Explain please!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-21-2015, 09:16 PM
kurt's Avatar
kurt kurt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsingborg - Sweden
Posts: 674
Default Re: Suggestion - Avid's site problems have cost me

Firstly, I do not understand, why my subscription of 16 January 2015 covering in 12 month all the updates of Pro Tools HD, left me outside update to Pro Tools 12?
__________________
MBP early 2011. Apple MacPro 5.1 12Core ”Westmere”. DeckLink HD Extreme 3D+. OS X10.10.5
PTN|10-11. PTN|HD|10-11-12. 16 x 16 HD I/O - 16 x 16 192 I/O Lots of gear.

http://www.mmvstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-21-2015, 09:41 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Suggestion - Avid's site problems have cost me

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurt View Post
Firstly, I do not understand, why my subscription of 16 January 2015 covering in 12 month all the updates of Pro Tools HD, left me outside update to Pro Tools 12?
There is no such thing as a HD subscription.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-22-2015, 12:06 AM
kurt's Avatar
kurt kurt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsingborg - Sweden
Posts: 674
Default Re: Suggestion - Avid's site problems have cost me

No 12 month of updates of Pro Tools ?
__________________
MBP early 2011. Apple MacPro 5.1 12Core ”Westmere”. DeckLink HD Extreme 3D+. OS X10.10.5
PTN|10-11. PTN|HD|10-11-12. 16 x 16 HD I/O - 16 x 16 192 I/O Lots of gear.

http://www.mmvstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-22-2015, 01:49 AM
jesele jesele is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 183
Default Re: Suggestion - Avid's site problems have cost me

The point is that if I have a plan expiring for instance december 31 2015 and I renew the plan in November it should extend to a year after the current plan expire and not a year from when I pay. So should be december 31 2016 and not november 2016. Everything else must be illegal.


Jesper
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 8-core, 24 GB, OS X.12.6, HDX, HD i/o 8x8x8 + HD i/o 16 digital + Metric Halo ULN 8 + RME Fireface 800
http://vicc.se
http://jesperelen.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid repair cost Grey Eleven Rack 5 04-12-2012 09:19 PM
AVID site down again? Frank Kruse Pro Tools 10 6 04-02-2012 09:08 AM
Avid Site Down Barry Johns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-04-2010 09:24 PM
www.AVID.com redirecting to German AVID Web Site justus1900 General Discussion 13 09-25-2010 02:34 PM
Suggestion: on a good site w/ product eval... GapeOne 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-14-2004 02:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com