Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 08-18-2015, 05:59 PM
V5V's Avatar
V5V V5V is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 542
Default Re: PT 12 Trial not exist?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonthurley View Post
I went to the PT trial Page to find out I cant even demo PT12??? WTF?
Hilarious, isn't it? The main page on the site for Pro Tools 12 says "Try it for free! Click here!" and it takes you to a download for 11!

Even funnier (or sadder, depending on how you look at it), I brought this up when 11 didn't work with my system and I wanted to see if 12 solved the problem. Someone from Avid told me that updating the demo download was "on the list" of things to do, thanked me for pointing it out and promised to get it fixed. That was the beginning of April! Four months later they still haven't fixed it.

In the end I wound up with two solutions. The first was to contact my local dealer. He got in touch with Avid to arrange a demo for me. I wound up not needing that though. While no one from Avid ever responded to my DUC thread asking where to find a demo of 12, I mentioned it in another thread that was being read by someone from Avid who contacted me and deposited a demo asset in my account.
__________________
Lorin Schultz
V5V Audio
Vancouver, BC Canada
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 11-09-2015, 04:05 AM
Spaced Spaced is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London
Posts: 117
Default Why is there no Pro Tools 12 Trial?

Jus' askin'
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 11-09-2015, 04:19 AM
Anthony Jr.'s Avatar
Anthony Jr. Anthony Jr. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 124
Default Re: Why is there no Pro Tools 12 Trial?

I'm under the assumption it's because Avid has ProTools | First to allow end-users to try the software.
__________________
2018 18-Core iMac Pro / 64GB RAM / Mojave 10.14.3 / Protools 2018.12 / Apollo 8XP / Love
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 11-10-2015, 05:45 PM
Spaced Spaced is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London
Posts: 117
Default Re: Why is there no Pro Tools 12 Trial?

ProTools First? Not very helpful if you've been a ProTools HD user since V5 and want to determine whether or not you're about get stiffed with a version you are unable to try out prior to handing over £380, followed by £260 a year.

Alternatively, for £380, I could buy a copy of Vanilla ProTools and only commit to £99 a year. I dumped the Avid hardware years ago, so I don't need HD. I just wanted to give the regular version a whirl to check out the downsides and shortcomings.

Avid appear to be more about blind faith these days.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 11-11-2015, 12:12 AM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Why is there no Pro Tools 12 Trial?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony Jr. View Post
I'm under the assumption it's because Avid has ProTools | First to allow end-users to try the software.
becasuse you can rent it for $30 for a month don't be so cheap...
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 11-11-2015, 03:58 AM
Spaced Spaced is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: London
Posts: 117
Default Re: Why is there no Pro Tools 12 Trial?

I didn't realise I could rent ProTools 12HD- can you post a link?
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 11-11-2015, 07:47 AM
NipL NipL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 163
Default Re: Why is there no Pro Tools 12 Trial?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony Jr. View Post
I'm under the assumption it's because Avid has ProTools | First to allow end-users to try the software.
I wonder - they do provide PT11 as trial.

So agree with OP, why not latest since quite a few things has happend recently.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 12-29-2015, 10:21 AM
spur's Avatar
spur spur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 18
Default Re: Why is there no Pro Tools 12 Trial?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NipL View Post
I wonder - they do provide PT11 as trial.

So agree with OP, why not latest since quite a few things has happend recently.
Here's an answer I got when I emailed their support folks:

"Thank you for contacting Avid Web Store Support.

I would be happy to provide you a trial version of our Pro Tools 11. We currently do not have a demo for Pro Tools 12 but they have almost the same features.

Kindly go to this link to download the Pro Tools 11 trial version : http://connect.avid.com/Pro-Tools-Trial.html

Should you require further assistance, feel free to reply to this email."

I put bold around the 'same features' phrase.

HTH?
__________________
Cheers,
Nathan

memesounds.com
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 12-29-2015, 12:53 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,666
Default Re: Why is there no Pro Tools 12 Trial?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaced View Post
I didn't realise I could rent ProTools 12HD- can you post a link?
you can't purchase the HD software "standalone" anyway.

Rent the vanilla version

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaced View Post
I dumped the Avid hardware years ago, so I don't need HD. I just wanted to give the regular version a whirl to check out the downsides and shortcomings..
.
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 03-02-2016, 11:09 AM
amathie amathie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 50
Default Downloading Trial Version of ProTools

I registered for a trial version of ProTools and received a 30 day licence in my iLok account which I have transferred to my iLok - so far so good...

.. but

1. There only seems to be a trial version for PT11. Is it possible to get a trial for PT12, specifically to see how track freezing works in PT?

2. I've not been able to find out where to download the software from. There is no link that I could find in the downloads section and nothing in my AVID Master account folder. I can't contact support because I don't have an AVID product.

Could some kind soul help me out here?

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 11 TRIAL version anjoola Pro Tools 11 2 03-25-2015 11:52 PM
Trial Version vronga Getting Started 6 07-31-2014 09:08 AM
what version of HD 11 is the free trial evilstudios Pro Tools 11 3 12-05-2013 02:02 PM
Trial version for pro tools 10?? CDac macOS 0 11-03-2011 03:21 PM
Structure Trial Version - 3 GB of voices - same as Free? Room335 Virtual Instruments 11 12-26-2007 06:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com