Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 10-30-2015, 08:54 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 - more info

is seriously right. It's getting absolutely ridiculous how long it takes Digi to update their software for compatibility. By the time you do, a new OS is almost always out.

Lame.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10-30-2015, 09:25 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,947
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 - more info

^^^^^
No you can blame that on lame ass Apple.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.4 Antelope Orion 32
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10-30-2015, 09:46 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 - more info

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip888 View Post
^^^^^
No you can blame that on lame ass Apple.
I work with developers in California and Apple releases beta's to developers months ahead of the OS's final releases. We had access to El Capitan last July.
FWIW Windows 10 was released in July and Avid still has not approved it and it's almost November.
Plain and simple Avid has contracted nearly everything out in company to 3rd party companies so that is the real reason why they don't "seem" to be on top of it.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10-30-2015, 09:50 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 - more info

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Graham View Post
Track Freeze will be coming soon after Commit arrives.
define soon - Freeze was announced as "coming soon" NAB 2014….
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10-30-2015, 09:53 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 - more info

Not that I'm suggesting anyone do it, but I've been running El Capitan since the public release on my HDX system and Vanilla system. It's been very stable. More so than on Yosemite.

I just updated the OS over Yosemite. I did not do a clean install. There would be too many damn things to reauthorize.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10-30-2015, 10:12 PM
TimNielsen TimNielsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,191
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 - more info

Are you running PT11 or PT12 on El Cap? I've heard a lot of people saying it's running fine, so I'm game to try!
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 10-30-2015, 10:16 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 - more info

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimNielsen View Post
Are you running PT11 or PT12 on El Cap? I've heard a lot of people saying it's running fine, so I'm game to try!
12.2.1 HDX and Vanilla.

PT11 (latest version) on two other systems also working perfectly fine although they run lighter files. Mainly music editing on the sound stage.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 10-30-2015, 10:48 PM
profdraper profdraper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 126
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 - more info

Render in place, exactly like Nuendo /Cubase, eh? Nice to have consistency and (ahem) ... 'innovation' in the ... 'workflow'.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10-30-2015, 10:52 PM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 - more info

So we gonna stop complaining about PT not having Track Freeze?
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-30-2015, 10:53 PM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Pro Tools 12.3 - more info

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip888 View Post
^^^^^
No you can blame that on lame ass Apple.
I agree! That is why I'm glad Microsoft said that Windows 10 is really the last real numbered version for now! At this point, just update the features.
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Curious about info required, a way to obtain info in mail bo andre67 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-21-2007 01:34 PM
More info on the new Pro Tools!!!!! WOW! ;) vocalvoodoo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-25-2005 11:44 AM
Pro Tools 6.0 Info The Central Scrutinizer Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-31-2003 10:20 AM
Pro Tools 6.0 info EarnestBliss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-13-2002 09:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com