Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-20-2011, 01:55 PM
zv yoda zv yoda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 102
Default Syncing audio recorded on friends system

Hi there. I colloborate online with a mate of mine. When he sends me his audio files (by email or yousendit) they don't align to my click when I import his audio into my session. I always need to go into slip mode to align his files.

We're both running the latest version of LE on identical core 2 iMacs (with 4Gb RAM) & our sessions are recorded to the same BPM (againt our inbuilt PT click tracks).

Any help greatly appreciated!
__________________
My music

Hardware
21.5" iMac 2.5GHz i5 (mid 2011), 003 rack, Roland TD12KV, Command8, Axiom 61,
Maxtor OneTouch4 FW/750Gb/16Mb/7200rpm (audio/session drive)
WD 1TB MyBook Studio (backup)

Software
OSX 10.7.5, PTLE 9.0.5, Superior Drummer 2.2.3, Miroslav Philharmonic Classik, SampleTank 2.5L
Waves Gold, CLA, JJP, Maserati, T-RackS CS Grand, Massey Tape Sat & DTM, Cytomic The Glue
Amplitube 3, Ampeg SVX
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-20-2011, 03:27 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Syncing audio recorded on friends system

It's well documented that the Pro Tools click track can drift, loads of posts on this.

You might consider printing the click track to audio at the start and both use it to be sure your singing from the same hymn sheet.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-20-2011, 04:54 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,305
Default Re: Syncing audio recorded on friends system

Quote:
Originally Posted by zv yoda View Post
they don't align to my click when I import his audio into my session.
That's because the two of you are not starting from the same start point in the session.

You need to come up with a collaboration method that requires the two of you to be more uniform in your work and sharing.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-2011, 05:03 PM
jbasil jbasil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: Syncing audio recorded on friends system

How much do you end up needing to slip them? Also are they spot on at the session start and then drift, getting further away down the session?

Seems not right, like something's different in the two session settings. While PT's clock isn't definitive when set to internal, I often get and send files and they fit right in. Tell us more. : )

If you are using a session set at 100 bpm starting at 00:00 and he is also, you shouldn't have any problem. What happens if you "spot" a file to it's "original" time stamp? Does it go somewhere clearly wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-2011, 06:51 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,848
Default Re: Syncing audio recorded on friends system

How about this; whoever creates the session, should record the click to an audio track and include that as you pass things back and forth Also, consolidate all audio tracks back to time 00:00:000.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-20-2011, 11:16 PM
zv yoda zv yoda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 102
Default Re: Syncing audio recorded on friends system

Thx for the replies. We both always bounce audio from 0:00:00 (even if the audio itself only kicks in halfway through the song), so we are starting from the same point in the session.

Printing the click to audio would imrove things for tracking vox & real instruments, but we also use sample/midi based music as well so quantizing / editing wold become a bit a nightmare.

In terms of he amount of drift, we're talking milliseconds... a few ticks. It seems to be a consistent amount throughout.
__________________
My music

Hardware
21.5" iMac 2.5GHz i5 (mid 2011), 003 rack, Roland TD12KV, Command8, Axiom 61,
Maxtor OneTouch4 FW/750Gb/16Mb/7200rpm (audio/session drive)
WD 1TB MyBook Studio (backup)

Software
OSX 10.7.5, PTLE 9.0.5, Superior Drummer 2.2.3, Miroslav Philharmonic Classik, SampleTank 2.5L
Waves Gold, CLA, JJP, Maserati, T-RackS CS Grand, Massey Tape Sat & DTM, Cytomic The Glue
Amplitube 3, Ampeg SVX
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2011, 09:30 AM
jbasil jbasil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 169
Default Re: Syncing audio recorded on friends system

If it's consistent then the issue isn't drift, so that can be eliminated. Are you speaking of audio files of printed midi that need to be nudged, or even not printed midi (as opposed to non-midi live files) Unfortunately, this wouldn't surprise me at all. I have yet to work with midi in PT where the results didn't vary within a tiny range even on the same rig on multiple takes. Not enough to sound wrong but the waveforms for multiple prints of a plugin instrument did not exactly line up. Audio where midi is not a factor should always be spot on, though.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-26-2011, 01:37 AM
zv yoda zv yoda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 102
Default Re: Syncing audio recorded on friends system

Both audio & midi are affected. The difference is noticeable (i.e. the timing is definately out of synch & needs to be nudged back in before I can work on the session). As far as I can gather, it doesn't seem to get progressively worse, so maybe drfit was the wrong term to use.
__________________
My music

Hardware
21.5" iMac 2.5GHz i5 (mid 2011), 003 rack, Roland TD12KV, Command8, Axiom 61,
Maxtor OneTouch4 FW/750Gb/16Mb/7200rpm (audio/session drive)
WD 1TB MyBook Studio (backup)

Software
OSX 10.7.5, PTLE 9.0.5, Superior Drummer 2.2.3, Miroslav Philharmonic Classik, SampleTank 2.5L
Waves Gold, CLA, JJP, Maserati, T-RackS CS Grand, Massey Tape Sat & DTM, Cytomic The Glue
Amplitube 3, Ampeg SVX
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-26-2011, 10:08 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,305
Default Re: Syncing audio recorded on friends system

You guys should zero out any MIDI track offsets on each of the systems and then run the session at the same buffer size.

You probably should also share the same Pro Tools session file just to be certain that you're running from the same settings.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-26-2011, 10:25 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,765
Default Re: Syncing audio recorded on friends system

Are you possibly bouncing as MP3's? If so - that's the problem.

The MP3 codec adds a tiny bit of space before the audio starts and it can vary depending on several factors. Unfortunately there's no way around this other than to trim that silence and nudge the audio files into place.

A better method is to use AIF or WAV files, which wouldn't exhibit the problem.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recorded tracks not syncing/alliigning with drum loops Michaelgcrawford Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 11-27-2011 10:16 AM
How to transfer sessions recorded on my Mac system to my PC system crookedtourguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-08-2010 01:38 PM
adjusting recorded audio by system latency? Tweakster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 04-05-2009 10:41 AM
Pleuse my friends i need help ! Friends help me !!! sputnik33 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-10-2008 07:58 AM
Syncing HD and LE System for more Inputs - ??? Andi R Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-27-2006 07:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com