Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2009, 11:42 AM
zv yoda zv yoda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 102
Default Kick is triggering multiple samples

Hi folks... went out to studio today & this started to happen... when I play the kick, it triggers not only the kick, but also the snare/hats/crashes too... seems to be triggering each of them in sequence.

Any ideas what's causing this?

See sig for my set up - any help greatly appreciated - thanks!
__________________
My music

Hardware
21.5" iMac 2.5GHz i5 (mid 2011), 003 rack, Roland TD12KV, Command8, Axiom 61,
Maxtor OneTouch4 FW/750Gb/16Mb/7200rpm (audio/session drive)
WD 1TB MyBook Studio (backup)

Software
OSX 10.7.5, PTLE 9.0.5, Superior Drummer 2.2.3, Miroslav Philharmonic Classik, SampleTank 2.5L
Waves Gold, CLA, JJP, Maserati, T-RackS CS Grand, Massey Tape Sat & DTM, Cytomic The Glue
Amplitube 3, Ampeg SVX
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-26-2009, 02:13 PM
zv yoda zv yoda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 102
Default Re: Kick is triggering multiple samples

Hi,
I'm using a TD12 triggering Superior Drummer 2 in Pro Tools LE on an iMac.
__________________
My music

Hardware
21.5" iMac 2.5GHz i5 (mid 2011), 003 rack, Roland TD12KV, Command8, Axiom 61,
Maxtor OneTouch4 FW/750Gb/16Mb/7200rpm (audio/session drive)
WD 1TB MyBook Studio (backup)

Software
OSX 10.7.5, PTLE 9.0.5, Superior Drummer 2.2.3, Miroslav Philharmonic Classik, SampleTank 2.5L
Waves Gold, CLA, JJP, Maserati, T-RackS CS Grand, Massey Tape Sat & DTM, Cytomic The Glue
Amplitube 3, Ampeg SVX
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2009, 08:07 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,850
Default Re: Kick is triggering multiple samples

Do I understand this right? Each time you hit the kick trigger, you get a different sound? Or it triggers several sounds at once? If its the first, I am baffled(check the midi note assignment in the TD brain for each pad). If its the latter, maybe you need to make the pads less sensitive. I use a TD10 setup and it works extremely well. If I play it, I sometimes need to replace a crash with a choked crash(can't make the VI choke cymbals). If I hire a drummer, I usually have them put up real cymbals and hat and run 3 mics. That works really well, maintains all the nuance of things like the ride and hat, adds some "air" to the overall kit sound, and editing is still fairly easy using Elastic Audio by grouping the mic tracks first.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2009, 10:42 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Kick is triggering multiple samples

Crosstalk - either adjust the crosstalk & masking settings in your ekit head or physically isolate the pads mechanically.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:37 AM
zv yoda zv yoda is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 102
Default Re: Kick is triggering multiple samples

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Do I understand this right? Each time you hit the kick trigger, you get a different sound? Or it triggers several sounds at once?
Actually, it was doing both... I found out what happened.. seems like one of my kids may have changed the settings on the TD12 - it was in the "Jam" setting (where hitting the cymbals starts a bass guiatr riff/synths).

All sorted now
__________________
My music

Hardware
21.5" iMac 2.5GHz i5 (mid 2011), 003 rack, Roland TD12KV, Command8, Axiom 61,
Maxtor OneTouch4 FW/750Gb/16Mb/7200rpm (audio/session drive)
WD 1TB MyBook Studio (backup)

Software
OSX 10.7.5, PTLE 9.0.5, Superior Drummer 2.2.3, Miroslav Philharmonic Classik, SampleTank 2.5L
Waves Gold, CLA, JJP, Maserati, T-RackS CS Grand, Massey Tape Sat & DTM, Cytomic The Glue
Amplitube 3, Ampeg SVX
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-27-2009, 12:18 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,850
Default Re: Kick is triggering multiple samples

YOu forgot the anti-kid plugin
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2010, 07:30 AM
Andy666 Andy666 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 30
Default Re: Kick is triggering multiple samples

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
YOu forgot the anti-kid plugin
LOL all over the place
__________________
Check out my bands:

NERVE

Death Penalty
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Triggering Plug-In For Kick Drum MetalDrummer13 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 04-01-2011 10:58 PM
Need Triggering Plug-In For Kick Drum MetalDrummer13 General Discussion 9 03-17-2011 05:44 PM
triggering a sine wave tone with a kick drum track Animal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-14-2004 02:01 AM
triggering samples in reason from PT LE Adrian D 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-12-2003 06:02 AM
Triggering Kick and Snare in PT Using midi makerthemaker Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-25-2000 10:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com