Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread

Old 02-10-2010, 07:53 AM

Default LE to HD quality difference

Hello, I’ve been recording for about 6 years now with LE 003, Currently my set-up looks like this.

G5 dual ppc
Universal audio 2-610 mic pre
Focusrite octopre
Waves diamond and ssl native bundle.

I’m trying to figure out if the benefits outweigh the cost before upgrading from a LE 003 to an HD1. Therefore, I have a few question’s and all answer’s are greatly appreciated.

Question’s

1: with the exception of the AD converter. Is there any other difference in the QUALITY of the recordings between a 003 and HD if the recording is at same bit/sample rates.

2: Is there any difference in the QUALITY between native plugs and TDM plugs? Or is it just, one is internal processing and the other is host based.

3: can’t I get an apogee or top end ADC and get away with HD quality on my 003?
Old 02-10-2010, 07:55 AM

Default Re: LE to HD quality difference

1st off, WELCOME to the DUC...

2ndly, search the DUC... a zillion threads on exactly all u ask & I won't be the only to tell u this... just the 1st...

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Old 02-10-2010, 07:58 AM

i typed "LE to HD" in the search bar. 0 searches were found
Old 02-10-2010, 08:04 AM

Well being that the DUC search engine sucks big time, I'll give u that; the trick is Google...

I will tell u this, HD1 will be a joke...

'IS TAMARA HOME'
NO, SHE'S WITH
HOBO KEY
'' (that dopey green thing)

('we' must start using pronouns)
Old 02-10-2010, 11:09 AM