Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2011, 04:34 PM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,080
Default New drive for sample streaming

I need to upgrade an internal drive for sample streaming. I have one Seagate 750 gig 7200 drive for samples and also a 500 gig Seagate 7200 for samples. I want to replace the 500 gig drive with a 2T gig drive. Is that okay? I have a 2008 MacPro Dual Quad-core Xeon 2.8 GHz.

What drive do you suggest at this time. Not interested in SSDs yet....

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2011, 04:40 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: New drive for sample streaming

Well... do you really need the 2TB of space for samples? It comes to a point where it can be better off to use a 3rd drive rather than a larger one, when it comes to fast streaming.

That being said... anything at least 7200RPM with 64mb cache should be fine.

WD Caviar Black, for example. SATAII is fine. SATA3 is completely unnecessary for a platter drive, as a spinning disk won't even saturate a SATAII bus, much less SATA3. (ie, SATA3 HDDs are more expensive, and pointlessly so)
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2011, 07:02 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,409
Default Re: New drive for sample streaming

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael c View Post
I need to upgrade an internal drive for sample streaming. I have one Seagate 750 gig 7200 drive for samples and also a 500 gig Seagate 7200 for samples. I want to replace the 500 gig drive with a 2T gig drive. Is that okay? I have a 2008 MacPro Dual Quad-core Xeon 2.8 GHz.

What drive do you suggest at this time. Not interested in SSDs yet....

Thanks.


Do you have any issues with performance now, or just need more space? You aren't going to gain performance with another platter drive, but if you just want more space for samples, and don't plan on streaming a lot of them at a time from the drive you should be okay. I personally stream all my goto samples from SSDs, and put the stuff I don't normally use on platter drives.

I agree with Dan that 2 smaller drives are better than one big one. The biggest drives I use are still 1TB, I don't feel comfortable with more than that on a single drive, for both backup and everyday use 1TB is about as much data as I'd want in one place.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
using thunderbolt drive as a streaming drive edencane macOS 7 05-11-2012 08:49 AM
eSATA card with HD2 for sample streaming? melodydetective Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 11-23-2011 05:18 PM
Streaming Samples From An Ethernet Drive. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-08-2009 04:19 PM
VIs Streaming Samples on same drive as PT Audio epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-02-2009 06:18 PM
AHHH! My Hard Drive isn't Streaming Audio Drzayuss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-07-2003 05:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com