Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-05-2019, 03:51 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: AAX Arpeggiator...

Funny how this thread, started almost 5 years ago, keeps getting resurrected every few months! The bottom line is it would be great to have:
a. an AAX arpeggiator with all the features we've discussed here...AND
b. MIDI inserts in Pro Tools


A simple solution to some of it would be if a developer like AIR, for example, were to make the sequencer/arpeggiator from Hybrid as a stand alone insert. Its easy to use, has many nice features, and a few things could even be added to it. There are others out there I know.


The one I'd REALLY like to see turned into a plugin is Dr. T's KCS. This was one of the original sequencers/arpeggiators from the early days of MIDI. As I recall, it was originally written for the old Atari ST computers (which is what I started with all those years ago). The best feature on it was the programmable variations generator (PVG). With the PVG, you could literally design your own algorithm to effect whatever you wanted and brand new variations would be created off of any sequence. It was a bit like MARIO on AIR Transfuser for anyone familiar with that, but with a lot more to it.



A couple years back I had some discussion with one of the developers at Camel Audio about it, and they were interested and looking into it, just before they sold their soul to the Dev...I mean Apple and Logic Pro. So, that was that.


Still...it would be nice.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-05-2019, 04:42 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,671
Default Re: AAX Arpeggiator...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ale View Post
I think scaler from plug-in boutique has some modes with arpeggio and is
Aax. I don’t have but I have read that you can do such stuff.

Ale
Yeah, Scaler is awesome. It's a MUST HAVE for MIDI production in Pro Tools.

It does pretty much everything people seem to be wanting in this thread.

I did a couple videos on it last year

SCALER | Unleash MIDI in Pro Tools
https://youtu.be/yHKS-joawDo

How to Setup Scaler in Pro Tools
https://youtu.be/LMGiPdtZOrg

It has even more features now. It's worth the money if you want to do MIDI in PT.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-09-2019, 10:35 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,129
Default Re: AAX Arpeggiator...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Yeah, Scaler is awesome. It's a MUST HAVE for MIDI production in Pro Tools.

It does pretty much everything people seem to be wanting in this thread.

I did a couple videos on it last year

SCALER | Unleash MIDI in Pro Tools
https://youtu.be/yHKS-joawDo

How to Setup Scaler in Pro Tools
https://youtu.be/LMGiPdtZOrg

It has even more features now. It's worth the money if you want to do MIDI in PT.

Brian, I hadn't even heard of Scaler until this post. You're right, it does seem to be a pretty cool MIDI sequencer tool. I have Cthulu and Thysus. Both are nice and do creative things for sure. What I want is one where I can input some kind of algorithm and apply it to a sequence and it will produce a new sequence, related to the first one, according to my algorithm. That was the beauty of the Programmable Variations Generator in the old Dr. T's KCS midi program.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-09-2019, 01:15 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,136
Default Re: AAX Arpeggiator...

Xx by U&I will evolve midi notes.
http://www.uisoftware.com/XX/index.html
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.10 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds/upkeep
----
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-09-2019, 01:19 PM
briaboy briaboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 344
Default Re: AAX Arpeggiator...

Soundbytes Thesys works well in PT, I use is occasionally.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT8 not working with FM8 Arpeggiator midiac Virtual Instruments 4 03-30-2009 10:04 AM
Arpeggiator? ikebrown Tips & Tricks 4 02-11-2007 02:29 PM
MIDI Arpeggiator e-rase 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-21-2006 12:03 AM
Midi arpeggiator for PT...? command_shift Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-07-2005 02:07 PM
Arpeggiator in Reason? PDupre General Discussion 0 09-10-2001 11:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com