Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2010, 11:36 PM
deardaddy deardaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 376
Default Cleaning D-command surface

Hi everybody,


I just did some major upgrades in my control rooms so I moved my D-command to another room and covered it but some dust came on it anyway.
I used a vaccuum cleaner to remove the dust, most of it was removed but there is still some dust.

How do you guys clean the control surface of your Icon console ?


Thanks for your time.


Pascal
__________________
Pascal Zander
Stand up
Audio recording & post
www.standup.be
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2010, 04:35 PM
macaholic macaholic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: atlanta, ga
Posts: 260
Default Re: Cleaning D-command surface

I just use a Swiffer hand duster for the daily build up... Is it something that requires a heavier hand??

I would try to avoid any sort of spray, because it would just make a mess, especially if you have a significant amount of dust.

Maybe a new soft bristle paint brush assigned ONLY to cleaning, sort of like an archeologist excavating brush???
__________________
JC Richardson C.A.S.
Magick Lantern
Atlanta
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2010, 06:17 PM
Hanswurstlsepp Hanswurstlsepp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: GERMANY, area Karlsruhe/Stuttgart/Mannheim
Posts: 966
Default Re: Cleaning D-command surface

I'm using a brush hooked up on my vacuum cleaner.

https://www.vorwerk-shop.com/de/kobo...how_kat,9.html

Some dust which was sticking into the armrest went completely away by using just a wet cloth.
__________________
Cheers, STeff
---------------------------------------
MacPro5,1 , 32 Gig Ram, 2xATI Radeon HD 5770, OSX10.13.2  Pro Tools|HDX Ultimate 2018.4.0  HD I/O&192Digital&96&96i I/Os  D-Command ES  4xUnitor8 & 2xAMT8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2010, 12:24 AM
deardaddy deardaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 376
Default Re: Cleaning D-command surface

Thank you for your answers, I'll be trying those solutions.

All the best from cold Belgium



Pascal
__________________
Pascal Zander
Stand up
Audio recording & post
www.standup.be
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2010, 10:29 AM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,027
Default Re: Cleaning D-command surface

Cold it is indeed ... damn winter doesn't seem to end huh ...


Anyways ... hey have I ever showed you that green dusting / cleaning glove that Mattia got us ?

Looks very much like this : http://www.5starshine.com/info-eco-c...dust-mitt.html

Works GREAT. cleans right around the encoders / wipes the displays clean etc ...

I'll give you a demo of it next time you drop bye ...


Chris
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2010, 08:51 AM
deardaddy deardaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 376
Default Re: Cleaning D-command surface

Thank you Chris for your reply.
No, I've never seen that glove, I'll ask Mattia where she bought that.

All the best from the other side of the town.


Pascal
__________________
Pascal Zander
Stand up
Audio recording & post
www.standup.be
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT9 Command 8 with another control surface finkbmx ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 22 11-25-2015 01:35 AM
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 and Command|8 Control Surface EmperorMusic Third Party Interfaces 2 02-15-2014 12:22 PM
Cleaning the Surface of a Control 24 Buel Pace ICON & C|24 9 09-15-2008 02:35 PM
ProjectMix i/o vs Command 8 for acontrol surface JonnyGinese 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-10-2005 07:22 AM
New command 8 control surface blue demon General Discussion 13 04-07-2004 10:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com