Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2014, 06:52 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default How many of you TDM users are still on a G5

I was looking at a recent post it made me think a lot, about upgrades in general. And I was curious how many of you folks out there still using ProTools HD TDM on a G5 system?

I am certainly not suggesting there's anything wrong with that, however I am curious about this.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2014, 10:24 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 745
Default Re: How many of you TDM users are still on a G5

my G5 died last year … after 7 years of nonstop working ;-)
__________________
Mac Pro 2010: PT10 HD3 on Mavericks, PT12 Ultimate 2020.3 on High Sierra, Logic X, DP 7, VEPro

MacBook Pro: Logic X, Mainstage
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2014, 11:14 AM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,490
Default Re: How many of you TDM users are still on a G5

I am, G5 dual 2.5ghz 8 gig of RAM, HD4 Accel OSX 5.8 with 2 lynx aurora 16s. I do not see any reason for ME to upgrade. Everything works fine and I have tonnes of dsp power.
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2014, 12:39 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 924
Default Re: How many of you TDM users are still on a G5

G5 quad. . Magma chassis HD accel6. Triple monitors. Hd8. No need to upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-2014, 09:33 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: How many of you TDM users are still on a G5

A question for you guys still using a G5, I would assume that you're probably not using VI's very much, is that correct? Considering how cheap PCIe accel cards are today, as well as used Intel-based Mac Pros, seems like it would be a pretty cheap upgrade to give you the ability to use quite a lot of VI's in your recording process.

Not that that may be important to you, I'm just curious if that's been a consideration for you, or if it's just a moot point for you.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2014, 09:01 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 924
Default Re: How many of you TDM users are still on a G5

Not many vi instruments at all. Maybe one or two. And a clik. Old school. Lol.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2014, 10:38 AM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,490
Default Re: How many of you TDM users are still on a G5

I barely use any at all, if I do its just one or two and I can always bounce as audio and hide and make inactive the instrument track. I mainly record bands and rappers. No composing for rap hip hop. If I was using alot of VIs I prolly would have upgraded by now.
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-18-2014, 11:36 AM
steverieck steverieck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga. USA
Posts: 53
Default Re: How many of you TDM users are still on a G5

I have some newer gear but I still have my G4 and Mix3 system! (4) 888/24s and An Apogee PSX-100 convertor/master clock....There are a lot of things about that system I still prefer.
__________________
www.steverieck.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-24-2014, 10:37 AM
TracerY TracerY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: North of Germany near Kiel
Posts: 23
Default Re: How many of you TDM users are still on a G5

Hi there,

I'm on a G5 Quad 6 GB Ram with an Pro Tools HD 6 in an Digidesign Expansion chassis.

Have some older VI in a session,
or record from hardware synths or print VI output from an Mac Mini Intel Quadcore into hd audio.

I got two backup G5 and plan to stay on Pro Tools HD 8.

Doing a lot of band recordings.

Greetings,
Goetz
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-24-2014, 10:32 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,698
Default Re: How many of you TDM users are still on a G5

Quote:
Originally Posted by TracerY View Post
I'm on a G5 Quad 6 GB Ram with an Pro Tools HD 6 in an Digidesign Expansion chassis.
I had that exact machine in 2005-2009 and it was a very nice box. I only needed to move on to Intel side of things, so I traded it for a Mac Pro 2009 Nehalem (which also was/is golden).

Why wouldn't you try to find a 2nd hand PT 7.2 license off eBay? That was the last one built specifically for PPC workstations in mind. I remember that it was the most stable version since PT 6.4 and was only topped when PT 8.1.1 came out. Sadly, that 8.1.1 is Intel-only and if you specifically don't need some new PT8 feature I'd say don't bother. Compared to 7.2 you will find that 8.0 feels sluggish. Sure, nice new GUI but still.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Windows users seeing the same bugs as Mac users? poly915 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 08-13-2007 10:08 PM
Are Windows users seeing the same bugs as Mac users? poly915 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 08-11-2007 07:51 PM
To The PowerBook users (and also WAVES users) ·[-_-]· Richon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-05-2005 06:42 AM
vst2retas users inhere? non-users, read this to ! ikke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-09-2004 03:41 PM
Need users opinion: New digi users domain name (unofficial).. David Fisher General Discussion 2 07-30-2002 09:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com