Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-24-2010, 10:17 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Import session data - access violation

Hi Duc

Have problems since 8.1 with Import session data.

When I try I get Access Violation.

Then the importet tracks show up in the left side track shower - but they are not shown in the edit window... If I try to force them I get another Access Violation. Odd.

It was from a fresh built session to a new built session. Both done by 8.1 if that matters.

Newer got it before.

Best,
Boe
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-24-2010, 10:20 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: Import session data - access violation

... and from there I cant get to save my session - another Access Violation - and then I have to close PT and open again. Bad.
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-24-2010, 10:21 PM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 839
Default Re: Import session data - access violation

There is an 8.1 CS update to address this bug.

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...55#post1655255
__________________
iMac Pro - HDX - Mojave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2010, 10:25 PM
Boe Larsen Boe Larsen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 505
Default Re: Import session data - access violation

Yes, but when I install CS1 PT wont start. There's a thread about that on the DUC as well. Have to wait for CS2 or somebody at Digi to tell us what to do. Import session data not working = pretty bad...
__________________
Boe Larsen
Producer
www.millfactory.dk
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-24-2010, 11:23 PM
Rammelt Rammelt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 338
Default Re: Import session data - access violation

Hi Boe,

the solution seems to be to download and re-install 8.1 before running the cs1.

BR,
John
__________________
******************
John Rammelt
Producer / Composer / Post
Hajp AB

old site:
Soundfactory JPR
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2010, 01:09 PM
Johnny Hulst's Avatar
Johnny Hulst Johnny Hulst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Staphorst, The Netherlands
Posts: 123
Default Re: Import session data - access violation

Hello Boe,

I had the same problem... It even gave the black screen from top to bottom...

Then after some trying I noticed when the I/O setup of the session that has to be imported is identical to the one your working in... the session import works.

So I opened up the session I wanted to import and exported the I/O settings...
opened up the session I was working in... deleted the I/O settings and after that importing the exported one. Only then I was able to use session import.

Hope it helps... but it's a pain when your I/O in your new session is way off.

Good luck and hope avid gets the ugly fixed first, instead of making new stuff!
__________________
Johnny Hulst
Hulst Audio Engineering
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MacPro (2019) 3,3ghz 12-core, 64gb Ram, 2x 1Tb SSD
1x Avid HDX & 1x UAD-2 Octo & 1X RME Hdspe AES
2x OWC PCI Express SSD (1TB)
1x SONNET Allegro Pro USB 3.2, 4-port USB-A PCIe
1x MTRX with 1DA-card, 64-Channel IP Audio Dante Module, MADI Module for Base Unit with SFP/LC module multimode 1300nm low output LED
1x MOM by DAD
4x 192 I/O (64 analog inputs)
1x HD Native Thunderbolt
Avid Artist Mix
Rupert Neve RNHP

http://www.hulst.nu
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-14-2011, 08:35 AM
littlesicily littlesicily is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 236
Default Re: Import session data - access violation

I tried matching the I/O and still crashes PT 8.1.1. Arggg.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-14-2011, 04:02 PM
Micks_Mix Micks_Mix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 136
Default Re: Import session data - access violation

Avoid importing AUX tracks, that did it for me. 8.1.1 did at least not make my system crash, whereas PT 8.0 still did.
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX, 192 HD I/O, 192 HD Digital I/O, Focusrite OctoPre, Pro Tools 12.7.1 w/ HEAT option, Mac Pro 5.1, 24 GB RAM, OS 10.9.5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-14-2011, 07:07 PM
littlesicily littlesicily is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 236
Default Re: Import session data - access violation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micks_Mix View Post
Avoid importing AUX tracks, that did it for me. 8.1.1 did at least not make my system crash, whereas PT 8.0 still did.
dang, that's exactly what i'm trying to import... about 7 aux tracks that are my subgroups. is there no workaround besides rebuilding them every time???
any issues w/ pt9HD?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2011, 02:14 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,747
Default Re: Import session data - access violation

I did a brand new fresh install of Snow Leopard (no migration assistant) last week and I have installed all the latest versions of plug-ins and everything up to 8.1.1

I am seeing this error almost every time I try to import any session data besides matching tracks. I am on Snow Leopard 10.6.7. I'd be more than happy to make a video showing the Access Violation issue happen as the original poster describes.

Are other people still seeing this in Pro Tools 8.1.1?
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools HDX 2020.5
Mac Pro 7,1 3.2 GHz 16-Core Xeon W
160 GB RAM
macOS 10.15.4
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Import Elastic Audio Tracks (Access Violation) jrwiles1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-28-2011 04:05 PM
Import Audio - Access Violation then Crash riffshack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 09-12-2010 09:41 AM
Access Violation - RTTI data GtrDude 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-25-2010 12:50 PM
cant import data - no access privileges?? digidesigner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-20-2008 07:36 AM
Access Violation on just one session - please help manilarice Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 09-11-2007 05:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com