Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2018, 12:35 PM
Inglesworth Inglesworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 167
Default Pro Tools 12 not reading ilok license correctly

Specs:
Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2012)
3.2 GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon
32GB RAM
Mac OS Sierra 10.12.6

Yesterday I upgraded this system from Yosemite to Sierra. It was running OS 10.1.5 and PT 12.1.

My ilok license is the "Pro Tools Perpetual Bundle (with 10/11/12)" Upon upgrading to Sierra 10.12.6, I went to the avid account and downloaded the installer for PT 12.8.3.

When i try to open pro tools, I receive an error message that says:
"You are trying to run a newer version of Pro Tools than allowed by your license. You can uninstall this version of Pro Tools and reinstall any version of Pro Tools that is supported by your license, or visit your MyAvid account to renew your upgrade plan."

I can't figure out why this is. My ilok has a license for Pro Tools 12 on it, and I am trying to run a version of Pro Tools 12.

Anyone have any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2018, 04:36 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,821
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not reading ilok license correctly

From PT 12.6 and up a new, free, license is required.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2018, 05:20 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,627
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not reading ilok license correctly

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
From PT 12.6 and up a new, free, license is required.
Only free if you are on a plan and if not then you need to look at what was the latest version out when your plan expired and thats the latest you can run on a non existing or expired plan.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2018, 04:50 PM
Inglesworth Inglesworth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 167
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not reading ilok license correctly

That's extremely ridiculous.

My license says "Pro tools 12", and not "Pro Tools 12 up to a certain point when your support plan expired". It indeed says the word "perpetual" in the license as well. Additionally, I should be able to log in to the avid store account, and not be allowed to download installers for versions beyond the one that will work with my license. Because now I am stuck running 12.1 on my upgrade to OS 10.12.6. I don't know what actually does or doesn't work yet, but I do know it's not officially supported. It opens and launches, though.


I am no legal expert, but somewhere in there it seems like Avid may be leaving itself up for a class action lawsuit or something. I am not saying that I would be a part of bringing this to fruition in any way. it's just a scenario that popped into my head.

Being a (seemingly forced - considering I have to deliver pro tools sessions for just about everything I do) customer of Avid's really feels like just standing around asking to be punished and then paying money for it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2018, 06:03 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 844
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not reading ilok license correctly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inglesworth View Post
Additionally, I should be able to log in to the avid store account, and not be allowed to download installers for versions beyond the one that will work with my license.
You can reach installers beyond when your plan ran out? In your My Products and Subscriptions? You shouldn't be able to -- the installers there should stop when you get to when your upgrade plan ran out. If you have later installers there, do you have another key with that license?

When did you stop paying for the support plan -- if you stopped (and with warning before) you would have received notifications to renew or you'll receive no more updates. There's no legal issues with Avid's plan because when 12 happened, you (and all of us) agreed to the terms to buy that license (perpetual or subscription) under a plan system that expires when you stop renewing. Perpetual meaning your "stop date" license freezes you there; subscription meaning you lose all access.

But if you have 12.7 installers, when was your stop date? It's possible you are allowed that and just didn't get the revised license. That 12.6 transition was harsh (I had to put in a message to support when it did not show up) with Avid's licensing system seemingly breaking down.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2018, 07:44 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 33,721
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not reading ilok license correctly

Question; where did you get the 12.8.3 installer? If its from your MyAvid account, then I am also confused(your account should only offer you versions you are registered for).
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2018, 10:50 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 7,526
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not reading ilok license correctly

Checked the account using your forum email and there's a Pro Tools Academic 12.2 product in there. Based on your purchase date this was a Pro Tools EDU product that included 4 years of software releases. Under the Product Details and Download Links I see installers for Pro Tools 10.3.10, 11.3.2, and 12.2, so you have the most current version based on your entitlement. An upgrade is available here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2018, 10:17 PM
macmusic9 macmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Branson, MO.
Posts: 32
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not reading ilok license correctly

Hey Jeffro, I'm having the similar problem as far as installers in my account and my ilok not opening Pro Tools.

The installers in my account are for version 12.7.1. I downloaded and installed on 2 of my computers, I have 2 separate iloks both with PT 12/11/10, but neither will open. My support plans expired 3/30/17 and there is nothing in my ilok account as far as new licenses. I've read the cutoff version was 12.5. If I'm not able to authorize 12.7, why are they the only installers in my account for version 12?

Before I begin the uninstall process of 12.7 for both machines and hopefully find the right earlier version of 12 I need, I thought I would check here.

Any help would be appreciated!

Last edited by macmusic9; 04-30-2018 at 10:29 AM. Reason: wrong date on expiration date in post
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-30-2018, 03:18 PM
macmusic9 macmusic9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Branson, MO.
Posts: 32
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 not reading ilok license correctly

OK, after checking my dates of expiration for support plans against the release dates, my cutoff is PT 12.7.1 for both so the installers are correct in my account. My iloks are not authorizing PT 12.7.1 though. Any ideas why this would be?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bought Pro Tools, but activation license is now missing in iLok license manager JlrBrodie Licensing & Accounts 4 11-21-2016 01:25 PM
Pro Tools 11.1.2 ilok won't install correctly Windows 8 Pro shamanrock Pro Tools 11 6 05-02-2014 07:50 AM
Received a Pro Tools HD 10 license bundle; isn't working correctly please help! beasleymusic Pro Tools Software (Mac) 18 12-26-2012 06:35 PM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 10 09-25-2012 07:22 AM
In Need of iLok pro tools 10 license mariojeda Buy & Sell 1 07-03-2012 04:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com