Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2009, 05:47 PM
Casalena Casalena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Default Best protools version for Scoring and VSL/VST

Im not sure where to post this, but I need some serious advice.
I just bought a PC

Windows Vista Ultimate 64 bit
AMD Phenon(tm) ll X3 720 processor 2.GHz
8 Gigs of Ram
64 bit operations system
Auzentech Forte soundcard
2 terabites

Basically, besides Pro tools HD, I'm not sure which is better for movie scoring, M powered, or LE.
I'll mostly be using programs like Vienna, Symphobia, or East West, 24bit, and a Midi Keyboard.
Could you please tell me which version and interface I should invest in, with the best compatibility and quality for my bugdet, and if i'll have to rid my computer of 64 bit and go back to Pro XP 32. I've been wasting time in other websites then I finally discovered this bonafied one.

My budget is $600 - 700 usd. ebay of course. That's not including the Tool kit upgrade for LE for scoring. I know I'll eventually need it for importing files other than quicktime or wvm and better syncing.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2009, 06:37 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,190
Default Re: Best protools version for Scoring and VSL/VST

Yes, you will need to revert to a 32 bit OS(either XP or Vista). When you do, do NOT install IE8 on XP as IE8 kills PT(we don't know why yet). M-Powered is good, but there may be some 3rd party VI's that need regular Pro Tools(LE or HD). I prefer the firewire interfaces so your budget could net a used 002 or a new Mbox 2 PRO. Pro Tools 8 offers a lot of midi feature improvement so that's the version I would go for.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2009, 08:23 PM
Casalena Casalena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Best protools version for Scoring and VSL/VST

So don't use LE 8 on xp, only vista. How does windows 7 work with pro tools m powered or LE 8?

I really want to get the profire 610 since the quality is better than Digi 002 i hear, and theres a good deal on ebay.
The only thing is that m powered is limited in scoring and doesnt' come with the DV toolkit upgrade, which sucks. Or is this untrue. Can professional work still be donw with M powered.

Which is better for Scoring, LE or M powered, straight up.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2009, 08:37 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Best protools version for Scoring and VSL/VST

When you say Scoring do you mean for Post?

Can a professional get work done w/ M-Powered? yes, but not as easily if they need a TC ruler

No regular version of M-Powered supports SMPTE TC or Feet+Frames rules, apparently there is a new academic version that does but you have to be a school to qualify to get it.

LE would give you the option of Complete Tool Kit (5.1, more busses, and more more more...)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-10-2009, 08:51 PM
Casalena Casalena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Best protools version for Scoring and VSL/VST

LE it is, ill eventually upgrade with the kit.
But without the DV kit, is scoring basically and syncing still possible? must be.

All I need now is an interface, which has the best quality for the least amount. 002?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-10-2009, 08:56 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Best protools version for Scoring and VSL/VST

if you can get it for less than a new mBox Pro then that would be your best option
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-10-2009, 09:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,190
Default Re: Best protools version for Scoring and VSL/VST

Don't confuse LE8 with IE8. LE8 works well on both XP and Vista. IE8 is Internet Explorer8 and it clashes with Pro Tools.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2009, 01:34 AM
Casalena Casalena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: Best protools version for Scoring and VSL/VST

I'll be using it for everything, mainly composing, not so much post. The only reason ii'm even considering pro tools is becuase it's commonplace.

Arrg still confused, keep hearing profire 610 is better than all the m box's or Digi 001 and 002, but of course it's not compatible with LE, even tho it's the same god damn company. So i'm just inevitably screwed and forced to settle with something of less quality.

Am I stressing over nothing, is quality calibur only an issue when it comes to recording live, or do each sound cards actually differ.
Cuz if it's just for recording I'll go with mbox 2, found a very nice deal.

Last edited by Casalena; 08-11-2009 at 01:48 AM. Reason: none
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2009, 05:54 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,190
Default Re: Best protools version for Scoring and VSL/VST

Look into the Mbox 2 or Mbox 2 PRO. Either will work fine and the quality is much more a factor of engineering skills. Plenty of high-quality stuff has been done with those boxes. The interface won't really make any difference with VI's and if you need a great mic pre, add an API A2D to the SPDIF input.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-11-2009, 06:28 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,654
Default Re: Best protools version for Scoring and VSL/VST

The LE interfaces sound fine. Hit records used to be done on 16-bit ADATs and TAC or Mackie mixers, and some of those songs still get radio rotation. An 002 is lightyears beyond that. We're so lucky these days to get such high quality for so little money, it's ridiculous.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.10 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.12 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimizing Computer for Scoring Video in ProTools 10? bifbangpow Pro Tools 10 4 10-09-2013 04:44 PM
Questions about ProTools and film scoring animas3D General Discussion 26 01-25-2012 07:55 PM
Music scoring coming to Protools? RussUK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 08-04-2006 07:00 AM
ProTools III System -What version ProTools? jpatrickp Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 07-04-2005 06:08 PM
where can I get protools version 3.2? PT1User Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-17-2004 10:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com