Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2016, 07:23 AM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Now you see it, now you don't.

Strange. Three days ago, PT12.5 was in my account. Now it's not.

Additionally, my Annual Upgrade Plan now suddenly says:

Time Period: Nov 07, 2014 - to - Nov 06, 2015

Start date is OK, but end date is actually Mar 31, 2016.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.10, Cubase Artist 7.5.40, Allen & Heath Qu-16, Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 2G, Fujitsu Lifebook AH532, Intel Core i7-3612QM, 8 GB RAM, Windows 7 Professional SP1 64 bit

Last edited by hooksound; 04-05-2016 at 01:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2016, 01:37 AM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: Now you see it, now you don't.

My account looks normal again, thanks.

Sorry for asking again, but after being on a plan for ~1.5 years, this is still not clear to me: After expiration of current upgrade plan, will I receive bug fixes, let's say 12.5.1?

I have read somewhere here on the DUC, that there is a 30 day grace period for renewing ones upgrade plan. Where is this stated officially?
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.10, Cubase Artist 7.5.40, Allen & Heath Qu-16, Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 2G, Fujitsu Lifebook AH532, Intel Core i7-3612QM, 8 GB RAM, Windows 7 Professional SP1 64 bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2016, 01:42 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,585
Default Re: Now you see it, now you don't.

Glad to hear that's resolved (we are still working through a few account issues and processing the Edu products).

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/F...aseEligibility describes updates and http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/F...ng-FAQ#Options mentions the grace period.

Hope this helps!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-05-2016, 02:57 AM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: Now you see it, now you don't.

This is clear now, thanks.

So, no bug fixes after plan expires.

However, I seem to remember a debate here on the DUC, where avid promised to deliver some kind of dot (or dotdot) releases also after plan expiration. Have I misunderstood that as well?
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.10, Cubase Artist 7.5.40, Allen & Heath Qu-16, Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 2G, Fujitsu Lifebook AH532, Intel Core i7-3612QM, 8 GB RAM, Windows 7 Professional SP1 64 bit

Last edited by hooksound; 04-05-2016 at 03:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-05-2016, 06:29 PM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Now you see it, now you don't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hooksound View Post
This is clear now, thanks.

So, no bug fixes after plan expires.

However, I seem to remember a debate here on the DUC, where avid promised to deliver some kind of dot (or dotdot) releases also after plan expiration. Have I misunderstood that as well?
No you haven't misunderstood, except .....

Any bugfix releases will be free for your version, but that depends on Avid actually releasing what they deem to be bug fix releases.

Classic case .... People in another thread are asking whether there will be 12.4.x bug fix releases for people who haven't got 12.5 because they don't have a current support plan.

Answer .... IF Avid release any, they will be free ... But .... And that's the point .... WILL they release any?

Avid are silent on the subject, and I reckon it was all marketing hyperbole anyway. I just don't see it happening. Personally, I'll be absolutely shocked out of my cynical interpretation of everything Avid says these days if any further 12.4.x bug fix releases appear.

And, lets not forget, AFAIK some PT11 owners, i.e. those who are not HD and have not upgraded to PT12, have never been given access to 11.3.2, have they? Even though this whole new approach in theory only started wih PT12, Avid pulled a fast one with the 11.3.2 bug fix update to 'encourage people to upgrade to PT12.

Bottom line, 12.5 includes various bug fixes for 12.4, as well as new features exclusive to 12.5. If Avid is going to be true to its word, there should indeed be a 12.4.x release that includes the bug fixes that were included in 12.5, but not the new features.

What worries me more though is whether Avid can succesfully ensure that multiple release variants don't introduce new bugs because expected code is carved out.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2016, 09:13 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,907
Default Re: Now you see it, now you don't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelpry View Post
Bottom line, 12.5 includes various bug fixes for 12.4, as well as new features exclusive to 12.5. If Avid is going to be true to its word, there should indeed be a 12.4.x release that includes the bug fixes that were included in 12.5, but not the new features.
Operating in this way will give Avid very little (maybe even none) incentive to fix bugs, Indeed it would be in their interest to continually have bugs to keep folks subscribed.....chasing the dream of PT actually fully working properly.

Oh how cynical of me.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-06-2016, 01:22 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,035
Default Re: Now you see it, now you don't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Glad to hear that's resolved (we are still working through a few account issues and processing the Edu products).

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/F...aseEligibility describes updates and http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/F...ng-FAQ#Options mentions the grace period.

Hope this helps!
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVID View Post
Note that there is a 30 day grace period following the expiration date of an Upgrade Plan which allows you to renew shortly after a plan has expired, but it does not extend your plan term by the number of days you wait--it adds a year to the original plan expiration date.
So if you let your plan expire, do you get a 30-day grace period for free updates as well? Because if you upgrade on the 30th day of your expiration grace period, you'd actually only be getting 11 months of support for your money if they pro-rate your subscription date.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-2016, 06:10 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,756
Default Re: Now you see it, now you don't.

another penalty for thinking you could live without Avid .. Diva ..
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD -OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 2019.6 last version
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro

Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.14.6 - PT 2019.6 Ended here ..
Logic Pro X latest version
RME BabyFace Pro
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-06-2016, 03:14 AM
toun toun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: Now you see it, now you don't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hooksound View Post
Strange. Three days ago, PT12.5 was in my account. Now it's not.

Additionally, my Annual Upgrade Plan now suddenly says:

Time Period: Nov 07, 2014 - to - Nov 06, 2015

Start date is OK, but end date is actually Mar 31, 2016.
I have the same issue and i couldn't update my support plan till March 31 .For the last four weeks on my account my Pro Tools 12 Upgrade and Support Plan 2015 update says "No download available. This product is a code only, or available on your purchased discs."I thought that was due to my upcoming expiration date on March 31 but i couldn't find link or a solution for update my support plan.
What should i do?
Thanks
John
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-06-2016, 10:19 AM
hooksound hooksound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N/A
Posts: 240
Default Re: Now you see it, now you don't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by toun View Post
I have the same issue and i couldn't update my support plan till March 31 .For the last four weeks on my account my Pro Tools 12 Upgrade and Support Plan 2015 update says "No download available. This product is a code only, or available on your purchased discs."I thought that was due to my upcoming expiration date on March 31 but i couldn't find link or a solution for update my support plan.
What should i do?
Thanks
John
Hey John.

My account looked like that for ~1 week. According to avid, they are looking into that at the moment.

And yes, downloads used to reside under "Upgrade and Support Plan 2015". They have now all been moved to the top entry in the list - typically the original purchased product.
__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.10, Cubase Artist 7.5.40, Allen & Heath Qu-16, Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 2G, Fujitsu Lifebook AH532, Intel Core i7-3612QM, 8 GB RAM, Windows 7 Professional SP1 64 bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com