Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-07-2014, 10:40 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,214
Default Re: Will my blue Sync HD work with the upcoming HDX systems?

I was told that the Blue and Grey Sync HDs do have different main boards by an Avid trained engineer. If true (and I can't verify this) it could mean that although to us they're functionally identical Avid software can distinguish them. Perhaps we'll see with 12. But anyway Blue Sync HD working happily with 11HDX here thankfully.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-08-2014, 08:52 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,934
Default Re: Will my blue Sync HD work with the upcoming HDX systems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
I was told that the Blue and Grey Sync HDs do have different main boards by an Avid trained engineer. If true (and I can't verify this) it could mean that although to us they're functionally identical Avid software can distinguish them. Perhaps we'll see with 12. But anyway Blue Sync HD working happily with 11HDX here thankfully.

Pete
Funny I was told by an avid engineer they are the same inside. No differences. Wonder which one is right?
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-08-2014, 10:48 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,214
Default Re: Will my blue Sync HD work with the upcoming HDX systems?

Interesting... (I lead a dull life). I'd back your guy, mine doesn't work for Avid - though he has worked with their kit for many years.

Pete
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-17-2014, 02:50 PM
notable's Avatar
notable notable is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Watertown, MA, USA
Posts: 147
Default Re: Will my blue Sync HD work with the upcoming HDX systems?

Its not the hardware (i suspect.... )Its the firmware upgrades that let it talk to pt 11 and the hardware. Those wont load unless Avid makes the handshake talk to the unit. I can attest they don't address the sync IO. Its firmware version has stayed the same for awhile at 121. the avid site clealy puts the blue and silver hd sync in the left behind hardware.
__________________
Notable.com
AfricanUnderground.com
DemocracyinDakar.com
NomadicWax.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-17-2014, 03:25 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Will my blue Sync HD work with the upcoming HDX systems?

I was told (just after the change) that the Blue and the Purple Sync HD units had the same innards / firmware
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-17-2014, 03:47 PM
Mitch Griffin Mitch Griffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN. USA
Posts: 362
Default Re: Will my blue Sync HD work with the upcoming HDX systems?

What's the main difference? Well, if you buy a Blue HD Sync on Ebay, about $1500 difference!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-10-2020, 10:47 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 624
Default Re: Will my blue Sync HD work with the upcoming HDX systems?

Bringing up this blast from the past - does Blue SYNC HD work with current PT?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-10-2020, 10:51 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,735
Default Re: Will my blue Sync HD work with the upcoming HDX systems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kristo Kotkas View Post
Bringing up this blast from the past - does Blue SYNC HD work with current PT?
It should, hopefully someone confirm. Sync I/O (non-HD) will not work.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-10-2020, 12:43 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 861
Default Re: Will my blue Sync HD work with the upcoming HDX systems?

Blue Sync HD is working fine here with HDX and 2020.11.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. AJA XT IO. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.4.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync HD BLUE + PT 11 HD rcutz Pro Tools 11 1 12-04-2013 03:13 PM
Sync-blue and midi-blue with protools 11? John Becool Pro Tools 11 4 09-11-2013 11:28 AM
How To Sync Two PT Systems. t_pov macOS 3 10-08-2012 03:14 PM
SYNC two MIX Systems Indigo Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-24-2008 04:40 PM
Sync Two Mix systems? Dog BBQ Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-15-2003 09:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com