Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2009, 08:23 AM
akhafaji akhafaji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 247
Question Irq ?

Hi,
In my PC The FireWire and 2 USB ports sharing the Same IRQ (IRQ #3)
is this could cause any latency issue or is it normal ?

second : my PC keybord is USB, is this could cause any issue with Protools ?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2009, 09:36 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Irq ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by akhafaji View Post
Hi,
In my PC The FireWire and 2 USB ports sharing the Same IRQ (IRQ #3)
is this could cause any latency issue or is it normal ?

second : my PC keybord is USB, is this could cause any issue with Protools ?
Thanks
In the most general terms this is probably not going to be an issue unless there's a problem (you would see a little yellow triangle with an exclamation point). XP handle IRQ's very well and there is rarely a problem.

The simplest way to eliminate any conflicts would be to simply move any USB devices that share that IRQ to a different USB Root hub. You can view whats connected to what by choosing the the various "views" in Device Manager and doing some detective work.

Since XP manages the IRQ's automatically the only that I'm aware of to change one would be to physically move your FW card to a different PCI slot.

If you think your USB keyboard is causing problems try using a PS2 adapter on it or move it to a different USB port and see if it makes a difference.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2009, 09:38 AM
TCM's Avatar
TCM TCM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,513
Default Re: Irq ?

It could and it doesn't need to???

Well, it depends on your system!
If it is a hypothetical question and you don't experience any issues - why bother!
If you indeed experience issues, I suggest you run the DPC latency checker and CHECK.
Then lets talk about possible solutions.
__________________
002R BLA mod and Mbox mini 2, PT 11.3.2,
HD Native, HD IO 16x8x8, PT 2018.7, Win 10 Pro 64, Asrock X99 Extreme6/3.1, i7-6850K, 32 GB Ram, SSD system drive, ssd audio drive
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-29-2009, 02:58 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,288
Default Re: Irq ?

Also, disabling unneeded devices in your BIOS can result in XP assigning certain devices different IRQs.

As far as the IRQ conflicts go, these can cause Buffer errors, crackling in your audio, reliability issues, etc.. For what it's worth, I've never seen an IRQ conflict cause any additional audio latency or anything like that. But your post is unclear. Are you experiencing any issues at this time?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com