Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-03-2014, 12:02 PM
ballbreaker333's Avatar
ballbreaker333 ballbreaker333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1
Default Problem with PT9 license and PT10/11 activating

Hi
I'm new here, hello everybody, bought my first Pro Tools 9

I have registrated my Pro Tools 9 with the registration ID from my Product card, tried twice and second time it said that ID was in use so I think it is ok.
I got no mail from Avid about PT9 and nothing on my iLok account, is this normal ?
Later I got a mail that I was qualifying for en upgrade to PT11 and got Activation codes for PT10 and PT11
I activated PT10 and got a license surrender on my iLok account, but I can't use it because I don't have a license for PT9
Where is my PT9 license ??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2014, 12:23 PM
Cologne71 Cologne71 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Default Re: Problem with PT9 license and PT10/11 activating

Hello!

When I bought my original Pro Tools 9 the license was already on the ilok which came with Pro Tools I think. When making an ilok account the license was recognized when I registered the ilok. Have you registered your ilok on your ilok-account?
When Avid gives you the license for PT10/11 they know that you have bought PT9. You have to download the license onto you ilok. It will disable your PT9 and you can then use PT10 or 11.
__________________
PT 11.1.2, PT 10.3.8, Athlon X2 3Ghz, Windows 7 64Bit, 6 GB Ram, Projectmix IO, Eleven Rack, NI Maschine Mk2, Alesis QS7
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2014, 01:04 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,640
Default Re: Problem with PT9 license and PT10/11 activating

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballbreaker333 View Post
Hi
I'm new here, hello everybody, bought my first Pro Tools 9

I have registrated my Pro Tools 9 with the registration ID from my Product card, tried twice and second time it said that ID was in use so I think it is ok.
I got no mail from Avid about PT9 and nothing on my iLok account, is this normal ?
Later I got a mail that I was qualifying for en upgrade to PT11 and got Activation codes for PT10 and PT11
I activated PT10 and got a license surrender on my iLok account, but I can't use it because I don't have a license for PT9
Where is my PT9 license ??
Hi,

Did you get an ilok with your pro tools 9? and did you register that to an ilok account? is that the same ilok account your are trying to upgrade to pt10/11

do you have the latest ilok manager installed?


chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2014, 05:26 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,006
Default Re: Problem with PT9 license and PT10/11 activating

Quote:
Originally Posted by crizdee View Post
Hi,

Did you get an ilok with your pro tools 9? and did you register that to an ilok account? is that the same ilok account your are trying to upgrade to pt10/11

do you have the latest ilok manager installed?


chris
And do you have an iLok2? The PT10/11 license asset won't work on an original iLok.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2014, 04:00 PM
reyfue reyfue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Miami
Posts: 1
Default Re: Problem with PT10 license activation code

Hi I'm new here as well
My question is:
I did purchased on ebay a protools 10, everything was good until I was trying to register the software.
they send me a student code and is not working.
there is anyway to get a code to be able to register or need to buy another protools? any other solution?
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-16-2014, 04:10 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,006
Default Re: Problem with PT10 license activation code

Quote:
Originally Posted by reyfue View Post
Hi I'm new here as well
My question is:
I did purchased on ebay a protools 10, everything was good until I was trying to register the software.
they send me a student code and is not working.
there is anyway to get a code to be able to register or need to buy another protools? any other solution?
thanks
Did you purchase a student version of PT10 from eBay? I believe you need something that identifies you as a student for registration.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem Activating PT11 Chad9875 Pro Tools 11 5 08-26-2013 09:32 PM
Will PT10/11 License Overwrite PT9 License On iLok? rmccam macOS 12 06-30-2013 12:53 PM
Activating my PT9 to PT10-PT11 upgrade is an endless loop? mike_mccue Windows 1 06-23-2013 04:45 PM
Problem activating Expansion pack metald74 Eleven Rack 7 05-17-2013 02:16 PM
Activating Avid Vitual Instruments for pt10 Groms Windows 8 04-29-2012 02:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com