Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:02 PM
Intuition Intuition is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 54
Default Mbox 3 pro Just popped LOUDLY no longer shows firmware.

Hey everyone.

My mbox 3 pro was working fine for almost 2 years then in June started giving me some really temperamental behavior.

I updated the mbox drivers to 1.1.8. and I think the firmware was 1.0.3

The issue now is that lately I've been trying to get through recordings despite the mbox being very temperamental. I often restart it after 4-5 takes as it will begin to blink on and off as if its being re-detected by the computer over and over again. If this happens during a pro-tools session then pro tools becomes very laggy and even saving the project before exiting can be a 10 minute affair.

Today though when loading a song the mbox pro when trying to switch from 44,k to 96,k mode made a loud POP that made my ears ring. Disturbing in that the volume was down.

Now it just restarts and restarts over and over. I can get amplitube to run for a minute before it does this.

I noticed that the firmware version no longer shows in the mbox pro UI ABOUT tab. Only the driver version.

I tried to go grab the firmware driver with the update button but it goes to a page that says its down for maintenance. Which is how it has been since June.

Is Avid not supporting this anymore?

Simply...

Where is the link to the firmware updates?

Are they separate from the 1.1.8 driver installers?

Thanks for any help. :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:06 PM
Intuition Intuition is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 54
Default Re: Mbox 3 pro Just popped LOUDLY no longer shows firmware.

Apologies, this is for the PC in windows 7 not MAC. Can I get the thread moved?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2013, 11:09 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,727
Default Re: Mbox 3 pro Just popped LOUDLY no longer shows firmware.

Can you test this on another computer?

Call Avid hardware support and talk to them about getting the Mbox serviced. That should be a free call, they might want you to buy an ASC to run through software things first but I suspect failing/failed hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2013, 03:04 AM
shoppy shoppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: London UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: Mbox 3 pro Just popped LOUDLY no longer shows firmware.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Can you test this on another computer?

Call Avid hardware support and talk to them about getting the Mbox serviced. That should be a free call, they might want you to buy an ASC to run through software things first but I suspect failing/failed hardware.
I have a very similar problem and I've been looking for a number to call, and I wasn't sure which ASC code I'd need to buy for hardware such as the Mbox Pro. Could you (or anyone else) direct me to the number please?

Many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2013, 12:18 PM
Intuition Intuition is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 54
Default Re: Mbox 3 pro Just popped LOUDLY no longer shows firmware.

Still interested in the firmware downloads for MBox pro 3rd gen. All I can see is the driver downloads on Avid's site.

The firmware I am using is 1.0.3

Not sure if its latest or most stable.

I still reboot quite often. Yes I get through sessions but its somewhere between 2-15 restarts of the mbox pro 3rd gen per hour.

Sometimes I am luck and it goes for a couple hours. Other times... not so much.

Is it more stable on a mac?

BTW..

I did the computer optimization guide back when I bought and made this setup but I thought I would go over it again.

But.... the link no longer works.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2013, 12:28 PM
Intuition Intuition is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 54
Default Re: Mbox 3 pro Just popped LOUDLY no longer shows firmware.

SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Supermicro X7DAL
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : KC-PC
User : KC

Processor
Model : 2x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5420 @ 2.50GHz
Speed : 2.5GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size
L2 Cache : 2x 6MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 24-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Supermicro X7DAL
BIOS : Phoenix Technologies LTD 6.00 12/03/2007
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : 2 Processor(s)
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 8GB DDR2 FB-DIMM

Chipset
Model : Super Micro Computer 5000X Chipset Memory Controller Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 333MHz (1.33GHz)
Total Memory : 4GB DDR2 FB-DIMM
Channels : 1
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 266MHz (532MHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Qimonda 72T512422HFN37A 2GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM PC2-4300F DDR2-534 (4-4-4-12 2-16-4-2)
Memory Module : Qimonda 72T512422HFN37A 2GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM PC2-4300F DDR2-534 (4-4-4-12 2-16-4-2)
Memory Module : Kingston 1GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM PC2-4300F DDR2-534 (4-4-4-12 2-16-4-2)
Memory Module : Kingston 1GB ECC DDR2 FB-DIMM PC2-4300F DDR2-534 (4-4-4-12 2-16-4-2)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (384 SM5.0 1.65GHz, 1GB, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (384SP 8C 1.65GHz, 1GB)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (384SP 1.65GHz, 1GB)
CUDA Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti (384SP 8C 1.65GHz, 1GB)

Storage Devices
WDC WD3200AAJS-00B4A0 (320GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 8MB Cache) : 298GB (D:) (F:)
WDC WD1001FAES-19W7A0 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (V:)
WDC WD3200AAJS-00B4A0 (320GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 8MB Cache) : 298GB (E:)
WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (C:)
HL-DT-STDVD-RAM GSA-H55L (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : N/A (G:)

Logical Storage Devices
Vista64 (D:) : 154GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD3200AAJS-00B4A0 (320GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 8MB Cache)
Music (V:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1001FAES-19W7A0 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Content (E:) : 298GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD3200AAJS-00B4A0 (320GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 8MB Cache)
XP64 (F:) : 72GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD3200AAJS-00B4A0 (320GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 8MB Cache)
New Volume (C:) : 493GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
3.5" 1.44MB (A:) : N/A
Optical Drive (G:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STDVD-RAM GSA-H55L (ATA66, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Super Micro Computer 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : Winbond W83627HF/F/HG/G
Audio Device : Super Micro Computer Enterprise Southbridge AC'97 Audio
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi 0020h
Audio Device : nVidia 0E0Ch
Audio Codec : nVidia 0016h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0016h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0016h
Serial Port(s) : 2
Parallel Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : Super Micro Computer 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Ultra ATA Storage Controller
Disk Controller : Super Micro Computer 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Serial ATA Storage Controller
USB Controller 1 : Super Micro Computer 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Chipset USB Universal Host Controller #1
USB Controller 2 : Super Micro Computer 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Chipset USB Universal Host Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : Super Micro Computer 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Chipset USB Universal Host Controller #3
USB Controller 4 : Super Micro Computer 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Chipset USB Universal Host Controller #4
USB Controller 5 : Super Micro Computer 631xESB/6321ESB/3100 Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Avlab Technology XIO2200(A) IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel 5X00/7X00 XMB Ch 21-0 SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 2 : Intel 5X00/7X00 XMB Ch 21-1 SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 3 : Intel 5X00/7X00 XMB Ch 22-0 SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 4 : Intel 5X00/7X00 XMB Ch 22-1 SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 5 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) PRO/1000 EB Network Connection with I/O Acceleration (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Intel(R) PRO/1000 EB Network Connection with I/O Acceleration #2 (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugin no longer on drive, but still shows up in menu in LE mathiasriffman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-11-2008 12:15 PM
Mbox shows not connected WorshipMusician 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-23-2007 12:41 PM
OCTANE MS matrix buzzing loudly vicwind Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 07-20-2005 01:39 AM
CD on desktop no longer shows a volumn in OS 9.2 fifty8th1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-24-2003 11:53 AM
Popped "S"'s on narration/VO?! dstagl Post - Surround - Video 4 08-20-2003 06:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com