Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2010, 04:31 PM
jack s. jack s. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 103
Default Eliminating Popped P's

Hi, I am running Pro Tools 8.0.4 on my new 2.53 GHz MacBook Pro with an Intel i5 processor running an MBox 2. I let the singer in my band record the vocals to a new tune we were tracking as a demo to send to the other guys in the group. He, unfortunately, was less competent that he lead me to believe as far as his engineering ability and left me with a vocal track with a couple of very offensive popped p's. Is there any method to cleaning these up at all? This isn't a terribly important recording but I would like to be able to clean up the vocals somewhat. Obviously there are several lessons to be learned from this experience but any help you can give me would be much appreciated.
-Jack
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2010, 04:40 PM
anothercolour anothercolour is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 242
Default Re: Eliminating Popped P's

One method I use:
1) Tab to Transient to locate the cursor at the pop.
2) Use the Separate command to create a region that begins at the pop.
3) Create a small Fade In over the pop.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2010, 05:08 PM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: Eliminating Popped P's

or highlight the pop sound with your selector tool, then go up to audiosuite...

High Pass filter around 120hz, listen for the bass to go away.

Transient modification is good (fades) but you may not need it. Sometimes the hard P helps cut through the track.
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2010, 06:21 PM
The Dougfather The Dougfather is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 3,199
Default Re: Eliminating Popped P's

Quote:
or highlight the pop sound with your selector tool, then go up to audiosuite...

High Pass filter around 120hz, listen for the bass to go away.

Transient modification is good (fades) but you may not need it. Sometimes the hard P helps cut through the track.
Definitely......IMHO the fade method can be a bit hit and miss, works on some plosives and not others.
__________________
iMac i5 2.8GHz, Macbook Pro 2.4GHz, Pro Tools 10/11, MOTU 828mk2, Presonus Digimax FS, Presonus Firestudio Project, TC Konnekt 24D
---
iCON Photography
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2010, 06:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,144
Default Re: Eliminating Popped P's

I'm with DrFord, but take it another step. Not only will I hi-pass with AudioSuite, I will also lower the gain with the AS GAIN plugin. Sometimes, I will find a "p" that is "better" and copy/paste it over the worst "p"s. What will work best for you? Try all of these options as different singers call for different approaches to editing. Or be a PITA and hand the track back to the singer and say, "you sang it, you fix it"(just kidding......sort of.......)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2010, 08:53 PM
jack s. jack s. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 103
Default Re: Eliminating Popped P's

Ok great. I used the high-pass filter and the Gain plug-in and the track sounds much much better. If this track were destined for public consumption I would just have had the singer come back and re-track it but the session was more for the purposes of songwriting with the singer and to give the other band members an idea of how the song might work out live. Anyway, thanks so much for the tips.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox 3 pro Just popped LOUDLY no longer shows firmware. Intuition FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 5 10-14-2013 12:28 PM
Authorization Issue Popped Up - Need Help JCWarrior Pro Tools 9 6 09-03-2013 09:02 AM
Popped my Cherry - Melodyne Plugin and 7.4cs9 not playing nice remainanon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-21-2009 03:59 PM
eliminating amp hum richsorr 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-01-2004 06:48 PM
Popped "S"'s on narration/VO?! dstagl Post - Surround - Video 4 08-20-2003 06:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com