Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:17 AM
healer healer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: hotbed of the world
Posts: 78
Default Do I absolutely positively NEED DV Toolkit to work

is there any other way. when i'll have enough income to legitimize buying it, then great, but until then i can't justify coughing up the doe! SO, can i work with picture in other ways. thanks.
__________________
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU
6600 @ 2.40GHz
2.40GHz, 1.98 GB of RAM
Windows XP, Professional, Ed (2002), SP 2
PT MBox 2 Pro 7.3.3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:38 AM
Scott McLemore Scott McLemore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 79
Default Re: Do I absolutely positively NEED DV Toolkit to work

Healer,

Sure you can work without the Toolkit (or other things which cost money).

Until somebody sends you an OMF file. BTW DigiTranslator and competitors are avail separately. The alternative is for you to bounce (2 tracks at a time probably) out of the video editor.

The other portions are (imho) things you can work around... done many SMPTE-to-mm:ss.xxxx conversions over time myself...

Scott
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2006, 10:17 AM
BRH BRH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 733
Default Re: Do I absolutely positively NEED DV Toolkit to work

Same here. I've exported the audio off of FCP 3-4 times (computer running internal sync) taken it to 2 different PT computers (Both running internal sync) reworked the audio, bounced it and took it back to FCP on different computers. Totally synced over 30 minutes. Only thing different was when I used the MixPlus at work and TDM plugs, no latency. Also have used PTLE and this was good too, but I had to resync to picture because of this latency.

Really would like that DVToolkit, but $1295? Already have the 2 plugs they offer with it, plus MPS option. I think they need some kind of pro-rated discount.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-16-2006, 12:41 PM
Starcrash Starcrash is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 798
Default Re: Do I absolutely positively NEED DV Toolkit to work

At some point you'll feel that you need it and hopefully you'll be making more doe (sic) when that time comes. There are some workarounds, like using a TDM or HD template session which will give you SMPTE timecode in the sub-counter (not very useful) and a nudge value set at one frame (extremely useful). Some type of OMF tool is absolutely necessary as most projects that come from a picture editor will be delivered with an OMF session that has the dialog assembly, temp music, temp FX, etc.

At some point you will need to be able to pull down the audio or conform your session to new picture changes which are both virtually impossible without DV Toolkit.
__________________
Pascal Garneau | IMDb
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-16-2006, 10:12 PM
Phil Jeffers Phil Jeffers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,245
Default Re: Do I absolutely positively NEED DV Toolkit to work

If you're working on film and television projects, even with very modest budgets, the DV Toolkit 2 bundle is not a lot of cash. I've spent the same amount of cash for one effects processor. God, buy a Digital Betacam recorder for laybacks and it will cost you 100 times that. Post production costs money dude. Digidesign, and other software developers are doing the industry a great service by providing such excellent tools for us professionals. If you are not professional, and want to play around with some sound design for picture, then no; you definitely do not need DV Toolkit 2, or any other serious software bundles IMO.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Work around for DV Toolkit the_dr38 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-28-2010 01:08 PM
Problems getting DV Toolkit 2 to work dogric Post - Surround - Video 18 12-16-2009 02:49 PM
Problems getting DV Toolkit 2 to work dogric 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-04-2009 01:56 AM
PT LE Nightmare! Absolutely No Work Flow!! Heck 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 07-14-2008 10:58 AM
best way to work with FCP w/o dv toolkit or av Ronnisi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-04-2003 04:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com