Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #171  
Old 11-17-2020, 04:04 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 309
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by DontLetMeDrown View Post
This is not working here. Does this work for you on Win10? All of my other apps have black bars on top except for Pro Tools. Every single plugin window has a white bar on top.
If you scroll all the way down in the color options and tick on "Title bars and windows borders" the top of PT & your plugins will be the color you choose from the spectrum box above.
Sometimes the PT border goes light but if you click on it resumes color.
Also, detick "Automatically choose an accent color".

Only the menu bar remains light which isn't too bad.

Last edited by take77; 11-17-2020 at 06:43 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #172  
Old 11-17-2020, 04:26 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 309
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Here's a screenshot.
You can choose a darker color.

Capture.jpg

Last edited by take77; 11-17-2020 at 06:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #173  
Old 11-17-2020, 04:54 PM
Lemoncel Lemoncel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 55
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
I tried that and found that the MIDI notes in an instrument track in the edit screen were almost unreadable. Are you seeing that as well? I'm on a Mac and as I understand it Mac & Windows users are seeing different things wr dark mode.
To be honest I haven't checked but I've heard that same thing repeated. I will check, and see if I can locate a hack to adjust. I did find a hack that lightened up the colors of the inactive grid lines in the main window, which I thought were too dark.

Edit: I'm on Mac also. And are you talking about the midi notes in the main screen or the midi editor screen?
Reply With Quote
  #174  
Old 11-17-2020, 05:56 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,041
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemoncel View Post
To be honest I haven't checked but I've heard that same thing repeated. I will check, and see if I can locate a hack to adjust. I did find a hack that lightened up the colors of the inactive grid lines in the main window, which I thought were too dark.

Edit: I'm on Mac also. And are you talking about the midi notes in the main screen or the midi editor screen?
The edit screen and NOT the MIDI editor screen
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #175  
Old 11-17-2020, 09:38 PM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 364
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

I'm having no problems seeing MIDI things in dark mode on my Mac running Catalina.
Reply With Quote
  #176  
Old 11-18-2020, 06:16 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,041
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neale View Post
I'm having no problems seeing MIDI things in dark mode on my Mac running Catalina.
Are you talking about using standard dark mode or the 'hack' mentioned here about making the two changes to the dark mode file to have tracks and automation run in classic mode? It's in the modified dark mode mentioned earlier in this thread that I have a problem seeing the MIDI notes. Unaltered dark mode shows them just fine.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #177  
Old 11-18-2020, 06:20 AM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 364
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Nope, no hacks. Bog standard. No issues in MIDI editor or track edit view.
Reply With Quote
  #178  
Old 11-18-2020, 06:36 AM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 187
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Great that some users find the new dark theme comfortable for their use but those of us who don't aren't simply reactionary, or too old to adapt. Many of us naturally and effortlessly made the switch to an OS-wide dark theme and find it soothing to our eyes. This includes native file managers, browsers, publishing and office software, not to mention video editing suites, possibly other DAWs, etc, etc.

I think Avid's team should revisit this and see what accommodations can be made to meet different users' needs.
Reply With Quote
  #179  
Old 11-18-2020, 06:57 AM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 364
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Nope.

That means Reaper-like tragedies with skins and things.

Iíd been using ďclassicĒ since 2003 or so. Remember when there was no MIDI editor window?

Canít please everyone. Iím pleased enough to use it, imperfect as it is. If anyone wants to hack it, clearly there are options available there, and there will likely be a small cottage industry built around a GUI that will allow you to tweak that preferences file.

Me? Iíd rather they fix the issue where >100 plugins on startup causes the program to crash. Or let the FB360 plugins be optional because they break Native Instrumentís Komplete Kontrol (still hasnít been fixed, and because the new PT reinstalls them, I had to rediscover why my Komplete Kontrol S61 didnít work again). Or put the track input arm button on my Artist Control touch screen next to the Record, Solo, and Mute buttons as it was suggested once upon a time that it could happen and that it is something that should always have been there, but likely never will now because that device has become abandonware.

Fix things that keep people from working. You know, issues that plague pros. You want skins? Lots of other options out there. Not trying to be snobby, but based on the splash screen (too hard to center things and distribute negative space in a coherent manner?) and new logos, and according to others the dark mode, Avidís core expertise is not graphic design, so donít expect it of them.

A- for effort, Avid. Not a needed or requested thing, but nice try. B- for execution, because while I like it and find it useful, it would be nice to adjust the brightness of the regions like you can the track colours, others are uncomfortable with the new thing and donít like it just because itís different, or maybe their monitors are badly calibrated, or... you canít please everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #180  
Old 11-18-2020, 07:18 AM
Emi's Avatar
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 458
Default Re: Worst Dark Mode Ever

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neale View Post
Nope.

That means Reaper-like tragedies with skins and things.

Iíd been using ďclassicĒ since 2003 or so. Remember when there was no MIDI editor window?

Canít please everyone. Iím pleased enough to use it, imperfect as it is. If anyone wants to hack it, clearly there are options available there, and there will likely be a small cottage industry built around a GUI that will allow you to tweak that preferences file.

Me? Iíd rather they fix the issue where >100 plugins on startup causes the program to crash. Or let the FB360 plugins be optional because they break Native Instrumentís Komplete Kontrol (still hasnít been fixed, and because the new PT reinstalls them, I had to rediscover why my Komplete Kontrol S61 didnít work again). Or put the track input arm button on my Artist Control touch screen next to the Record, Solo, and Mute buttons as it was suggested once upon a time that it could happen and that it is something that should always have been there, but likely never will now because that device has become abandonware.

Fix things that keep people from working. You know, issues that plague pros. You want skins? Lots of other options out there. Not trying to be snobby, but based on the splash screen (too hard to center things and distribute negative space in a coherent manner?) and new logos, and according to others the dark mode, Avidís core expertise is not graphic design, so donít expect it of them.

A- for effort, Avid. Not a needed or requested thing, but nice try. B- for execution, because while I like it and find it useful, it would be nice to adjust the brightness of the regions like you can the track colours, others are uncomfortable with the new thing and donít like it just because itís different, or maybe their monitors are badly calibrated, or... you canít please everyone.
I agree. But I think my question is: Why did Avid spends their time money and resources on dark theme before fixing the bugs and other important issues like stability?
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Catalina 10.15 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Motu 1248 | Pro Tools 2020.11 Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2020.5/2020.3 Compatibility with Catalina 10.15.4? derrickhou macOS 4 07-26-2020 08:46 AM
Pro Tools (2020.3) on MacBook Air 2020 compatibility pellekuipers Pro Tools 2020 1 04-04-2020 09:01 AM
How to change Pro Tools 12 to a Dark theme/skin Defier Pro Tools 12 7 03-26-2016 06:22 PM
Pro Tools 8 theme for Reaper? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-09-2010 08:51 AM
Pro tools theme song....! roijin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-27-2001 08:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com