Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #131  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:43 PM
bartosz idzi bartosz idzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 104
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Simpson View Post
There are reports from Mac users tonight of very slow machines which is suspected to be linked (somehow) to the Big Sur release. People are unable to download the update, but people who are not even attempting are having slow Mac's. I am experiencing this too. PT was running fine and then, an hour later, my Mac is running dead slow. No idea how this would affect people but users are finding issue goes away if they disconnect from the internet....

Just thought I would post this info (got in on the Mac Rumours site).
Yes, I also think that this is the culprit. It may be connected to various apple services like imessage and icloud. I had the same system behaviour at the same time - seem like the people downloading big sur overloaded apple servers? Makes you wonder what those services do in background and what is their real influence on your system performance - this is why disconnecting the workstation from the internet is best. I don't think Avid messed up this time - it's just hit a busy moment in time. Look around what is happening - yesterday Cubase 11, couple of days before Ableton 11, Today PT and Carbon, and also Logic 10.6. We have it too good :)
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x X5690 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb RAM - SSD 256 Gb - SSD 1TB - OS 10.14.6 - Metric Halo 2882 + Lucid 88192 - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11
  #132  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:48 PM
glogulus2003 glogulus2003 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 30
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

I wonder what that hybrid engine is going to cost for current hdx users...
  #133  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:48 PM
massivekerry massivekerry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 146
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by bartosz idzi View Post
Yes, I also think that this is the culprit. It may be connected to various apple services like imessage and icloud. I had the same system behaviour at the same time - seem like the people downloading big sur overloaded apple servers? Makes you wonder what those services do in background and what is their real influence on your system performance - this is why disconnecting the workstation from the internet is best. I don't think Avid messed up this time - it's just hit a busy moment in time. Look around what is happening - yesterday Cubase 11, couple of days before Ableton 11, Today PT and Carbon, and also Logic 10.6. We have it too good :)
Steinberg also had a HUGE problem yesterday with their Authorization server being overloaded from all of the people upgrading Cubase. Since their e-licenser software removed the authorization from the previous version before putting the new license in place, some people were totally unable to launch any version of Cubase (all day and into today)
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
  #134  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:51 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 18,032
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
Steinberg also had a HUGE problem yesterday with their Authorization server being overloaded from all of the people upgrading Cubase. Since their e-licenser software removed the authorization from the previous version before putting the new license in place, some people were totally unable to launch any version of Cubase (all day and into today)
Thanks for the heads-up on Steinberg. I suspect this same license asset deal happens across their s/w like Wavelab, etc.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
  #135  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:52 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,733
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by bartosz idzi View Post
Yes, I also think that this is the culprit. It may be connected to various apple services like imessage and icloud. I had the same system behaviour at the same time - seem like the people downloading big sur overloaded apple servers? Makes you wonder what those services do in background and what is their real influence on your system performance - this is why disconnecting the workstation from the internet is best. I don't think Avid messed up this time - it's just hit a busy moment in time. Look around what is happening - yesterday Cubase 11, couple of days before Ableton 11, Today PT and Carbon, and also Logic 10.6. We have it too good :)
One of the suspects being mentioned online is Apple's certification authentication service is being hammered. If problems persist disconnect your computer from the Internet while trying to start stuff up.
  #136  
Old 11-12-2020, 03:52 PM
bartosz idzi bartosz idzi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 104
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by massivekerry View Post
Steinberg also had a HUGE problem yesterday with their Authorization server being overloaded from all of the people upgrading Cubase. Since their e-licenser software removed the authorization from the previous version before putting the new license in place, some people were totally unable to launch any version of Cubase (all day and into today)
Yup, been there. But it lasted about an hour for me.
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x X5690 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb RAM - SSD 256 Gb - SSD 1TB - OS 10.14.6 - Metric Halo 2882 + Lucid 88192 - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11
  #137  
Old 11-12-2020, 04:01 PM
Akiz Akiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 175
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by glogulus2003 View Post
I wonder what that hybrid engine is going to cost for current hdx users...
$999 Seems like a possible price point, if you consider the Digilink license is $299, for a functionality that took zero development to achieve.



Cheers!
__________________
Mac Pro 6.1 "Late 2013", 12 Core 2.7 Ghz, 32Gb Ram, 1Tb SSD, MacOs 10.14.6 "Mojave", Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt, Softube Console 1,
Avid Artist Mix, Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.11.
  #138  
Old 11-12-2020, 04:10 PM
JingleDjango JingleDjango is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 187
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

Not meaning to derail this thread but. . .
Coincidentally, I was having odd problems on my home workstation today that were only resolved by pulling the ethernet cable. Still unresolved and I was going to take a closer look when I got the chance. Started happening after the PT update but I couldn't see any processes running that would tie the behaviour to the update.

The Console was flooded with errors from loginwindow process each time the system froze. I only mention this because of the chatter above regarding system performance issues related to network activity.

(macOS 10.14.6 here)
  #139  
Old 11-12-2020, 04:30 PM
strawb strawb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: socal
Posts: 53
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

initial install ran fine (catalina 10.15.6) but i hadn't yet installed HD driver. after that - the restart took forever and same symptoms as everyone else above. slow launch, bouncing icons, disconnected wifi and then ethernet. tried a few restarts/shutdowns then finally got a session to open although it took about 20 minutes - crawling!
after a few hours everything seemed to be ok but it was a WILD RIDE!!!
  #140  
Old 11-12-2020, 04:47 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 273
Default Re: ProTools 2020.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by moogboy100 View Post
Yes, but unfortunately it re-transcodes the video. Even if the video is exactly the same - like h264 to h264.

That means sitting through the agonizingly long wait for it to generate a new video file. Just tried a 2 minute offline Bounce and it took over 5 minutes because of the transcoding. At least in the old Mojave Quicktime Bounce to Disk the video is just passed straight through with immediate results.

very sad about this implementation.
Kinda makes me glad my 2010 MacPro is stuck at Mojave. I have a much more usable system than someone on Catalina.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, Radeon RX580 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 64GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools 2020 DAW midi controls? Red Solarflare Pro Tools 2020 4 12-11-2020 07:56 AM
Renewed Protools 2020 No downloads in account auratone Licensing & Accounts 4 10-08-2020 06:08 PM
ProTools 2020 HUI support courtsong Pro Tools 2020 2 10-02-2020 03:26 PM
Protools 2020 Mac Catalina Just Crashes JimmyD150155 Pro Tools 2020 12 05-02-2020 01:06 AM
New Avid Link 2020.1 - launched today 1/16/2020 marianna Licensing & Accounts 8 01-17-2020 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com