Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2015, 08:41 AM
Mitch Griffin Mitch Griffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Minneapolis, MN. USA
Posts: 359
Default Subscription Fail?

The attached photo is from a friend who thought he'd give the PT 12 a try, something tells me he'll change his mind. As you can see his sub doesn't expire until the 25th, but Avid has other plans. Anyone else have this premature cancellation happen?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 11027453_10153453672358273_8166443714502929717_n.jpg (33.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2015, 10:16 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,962
Default Re: Subscription Fail?

In the event something like this happens...

I'm sure the only plan Avid might have would be to correct this computer glitch.

I will forward this.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2015, 10:50 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,368
Default Re: Subscription Fail?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch Griffin View Post
The attached photo is from a friend who thought he'd give the PT 12 a try, something tells me he'll change his mind. As you can see his sub doesn't expire until the 25th, but Avid has other plans. Anyone else have this premature cancellation happen?
I emailed you to get his contact info, please reply ASAP. Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2015, 05:28 PM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 294
Default Re: Subscription Fail?

Thanks Mitch. Yes, I'm the friend that this happened to. As you can see, my subscription is current, but PT will not launch. To add insult, I tried to use the 1 time support, but after entering my system number, I was told that I had to use pay-per-incident support.

*sigh*

Terry
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Nuendo 10 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2015, 10:34 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Subscription Fail?

Quote:
Originally Posted by grayter1 View Post
Thanks Mitch. Yes, I'm the friend that this happened to. As you can see, my subscription is current, but PT will not launch. To add insult, I tried to use the 1 time support, but after entering my system number, I was told that I had to use pay-per-incident support.

*sigh*

Terry
Priceless!!!!

This is what avid developers are spending all of their time on at this point, surely they're not wasting any time figuring out how to stop you from using their software, God for bid they actually spend time developing ways to make their software actually work!
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2015, 10:30 AM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,368
Default Re: Subscription Fail?

Quote:
Originally Posted by grayter1 View Post
Thanks Mitch. Yes, I'm the friend that this happened to. As you can see, my subscription is current, but PT will not launch. To add insult, I tried to use the 1 time support, but after entering my system number, I was told that I had to use pay-per-incident support.

*sigh*

Terry
Thanks for posting... was able to find your info and started a case. Please check your email and reply to the case notice.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2015, 11:49 AM
snacks snacks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 3
Default Re: Subscription Fail?

The same thing has happened to me. I bought the annual subscription on April 5th but it says my iLok activation expired on May 5th and I can't open PT.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2015, 07:36 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 8,368
Default Re: Subscription Fail?

Quote:
Originally Posted by snacks View Post
The same thing has happened to me. I bought the annual subscription on April 5th but it says my iLok activation expired on May 5th and I can't open PT.
Sorry about the trouble. Looks like you have activated the temp license so that should get you up and running while CS investigates this to find out what happened.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-10-2015, 08:36 PM
grayter1 grayter1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Woodbury, MN
Posts: 294
Default Re: Subscription Fail?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Thanks for posting... was able to find your info and started a case. Please check your email and reply to the case notice.
It's working again, thanks. This brings up a question. Pro Tools is something that I use for work, while I use another DAW for my personal stuff.

Given the subscription model, say I want to be an "intermittent user" - subscribe for a few months, then drop it until I want to use it again, much like I do with Adobe. How does one do that? What is the procedure, and is there a penalty for working that way?

Terry
__________________
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 / Komplete S49 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / Nuendo 10 / Reaper 5 / Studio One 4.5 / Komplete 12
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-11-2015, 08:53 PM
snacks snacks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: New York
Posts: 3
Default Re: Subscription Fail?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Sorry about the trouble. Looks like you have activated the temp license so that should get you up and running while CS investigates this to find out what happened.
Thanks Jeffro!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about 12 subscription Kerick23 Pro Tools 12 1 04-29-2015 07:47 AM
Just bought the subscription JF_Rock Pro Tools 12 4 03-27-2015 06:19 AM
PT 10 over LE, install fail, ASC fail JaeBe Pro Tools 10 11 11-30-2011 03:29 PM
Protools SUBSCRIPTION? user1 General Discussion 1 01-21-2002 08:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com