Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-18-2015, 08:39 PM
vudoo vudoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 937
Default Spanner vs PT

Anyone here using Spanner ? Pros and cons vs PT's panner ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-19-2015, 12:24 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vudoo View Post
Anyone here using Spanner ? Pros and cons vs PT's panner ?
Spanner is much much more than just a panner. When it goes to surround mixing, I'm spoiled enough to say I can't work without the Spanner. It also provide a down mixing ability and supports AS too. Ah...and a free iPad app allowing to control Spanner via Airport is a huge bonus as well.
Try it...get the demo.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-19-2015, 04:03 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,863
Default

The possibility of volume automation for each individual channel on a multichannel track alone is worth buying it, imho. (Actually that should be a PT feature...)

As mgoorevich said it's not just a panner, it is so much more and I use it all the time.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2015, 09:22 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default

No more surround session without Spanner. Really. Easier to use and much more versatile than the built-in panner, and paired with its iPad app, it's really unbeatable.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2015, 07:05 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 406
Default

Spanner is incredibily useful. If you're mixing multichannel formats I can't think of a reason not to have it. Wish there was a Fairlight version!
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2015, 08:09 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,855
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Spanner is incredibily useful. If you're mixing multichannel formats I can't think of a reason not to have it. Wish there was a Fairlight version!
Because it's osx only
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2015, 10:55 AM
seanmccoy seanmccoy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 477
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
Because it's osx only
Yeah, sad Windows user here.

But I do like Anymix.
__________________
ADK Core i7 4.20, 32GB RAM, W10 Pro, PT HD 2019.10, HD Native, OMNI, Digi 192, AJA Kona LHi, UAD-2 Octo; Mac Pro 8-core 2.67, 32GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13, Logic Pro 10.4.7, Apogee Rosetta 800, UAD-2 Quad, MOTU 2408 Mk II: MBP mid-2012, 16GB RAM, Mojave, MOTU LP32, Pro Tools 2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2015, 11:50 AM
Dan Smith's Avatar
Dan Smith Dan Smith is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 115
Default multichannel sends

Anyone else run into the issue of not being able to use multichannel sends when Spanner is instantiated on a track? I haven't had time to try it out (yet!) but that one was drawback another mixer mentioned to me.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-20-2015, 01:14 PM
Steven1145 Steven1145 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 170
Default

Come on, the stock PT panner is dire. Spanner is miles above it.
__________________
Steven Ghouti
YELLOW CAB Studios
Paris, France

The studio FB page
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-21-2015, 01:44 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seanmccoy View Post
Yeah, sad Windows user here.

But I do like Anymix.
Well I own AnyMix Pro too, but its a different beast.
I use it all the time for up mixing the music to 5.1
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.6 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.4
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spancontrol for Spanner now available The Cargo Cult Post - Surround - Video 1 11-17-2015 06:39 PM
Spanner v2 released The Cargo Cult Post - Surround - Video 18 01-08-2015 06:10 PM
Spanner 2.0 Shan AAX Plug-ins 4 04-18-2013 03:52 PM
Spanner: new AAX surround panner plugin from maggot The Cargo Cult Post - Surround - Video 47 02-04-2013 06:00 PM
insert a Spanner and rotate The Cargo Cult Post - Surround - Video 2 10-24-2012 02:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com