Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 04-08-2005, 07:58 AM
A2D D2A A2D D2A is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 894
Default Re: I\'m Crazy....or in the Twilight Zone????

Richon
take a different perspective on your trouble shooting.
A) We know the M-Box works with your friends computer so "it not the M-Box"
B) You have tried power from different locations "so it not you line power"
C) You tried a 001 "so it's not the USB"
D) You tried the RAM in another M-Box users computer "so that appears to functional"
E) You have tried diferent V-cards, PSU's and HD's "so that kinda eliminates them"
F) You say you have installed XP several times (with reformatting I would guess) "so it would appear that you aren't carrying a tweaked installation over.
G) You have swapped the processor (I'll assume they were on different motherboards, I'm not an AMD man so I don't know if those processors you mentioned work on the same motherboard) "so it would appear that it's not CPU/MB related (unless it was the same MB for the different processors)"

YET the computer still doesn't function

Look at what has been common to each installation that didn't work and you should be able to find the cause.
Don't make the mistake of thinking things like
(a)a CDRW couldn't give me that problem
(b)things you are doing when assebling the computer should cause a problem
(c)the computer case couldn't cause this problem
(d)I don't need to re-initialize and format the drive to do the clean install of XP
(e)the ribbon cables in the case couldn't cause this problem
etc.......

My point is there is a common factor to the problem and whatever it is, it's something that is being presented in all the scenarios you have tried.
Find that common factor and you should find your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-08-2005, 11:11 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: I\'m Crazy....or in the Twilight Zone????

So when you hook up an SM57 to your MBox and turn the Mix knob all the way to Input.. you get clicks in the headphones?

If the answer is Yes.. then this isn't related in any way to your computer (except for the power supply)... so get a powered hub which can supply a decent current.

NOTE: You don't need to be running Pro Tools software to perform this test!

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 04-08-2005, 11:32 AM
madcow madcow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: \\m/ \\m/
Posts: 239
Default Re: I\'m Crazy....or in the Twilight Zone????

Quote:
So when you hook up an SM57 to your MBox and turn the Mix knob all the way to Input.. you get clicks in the headphones?

If the answer is Yes.. then this isn't related in any way to your computer (except for the power supply)... so get a powered hub which can supply a decent current.

Rail
I agree and also...

Unplug the CD/CDR/CDRW/DVD drive and the 2nd IDE drive (if you have one).
Try just recording to the system drive.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 04-11-2005, 07:16 AM
·[-_-]· Richon ·[-_-]·  Richon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Viρa del Mar , Chile
Posts: 303
Default Re: I\'m Crazy....or in the Twilight Zone????

Guess what.... i instaled Windows SP2.... and di the DEP FIX.... and voila!! Every random clik is gone!!!

Well ...i still don't know what it was (cause before i instaled more than 20 times 3 diferente windows SP1).... but i'm happy now!!!

PD: does somebody know why or how could i make the noise from moving the mouse or opening a window go.... cause it's really loud (but it's not getting recorded...only monitoring)
__________________
Powerbook 12" 1,5Ghz 1,25Gb RAM
M-Box v.1.0 "the old one"
PTLE 7.0 Tiger(10.4.6)
Ministack v2 NEWERTECH FIREWIRE+SEAGATE 320Gb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No go zone filosofem Virtual Instruments 3 05-19-2007 06:46 PM
twilight zone Steve MacMillan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-16-2004 04:25 PM
The DIGIlight Zone BesnikB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-17-2003 03:38 PM
PC crashed on me.... help!... I'm in the 'Zone' right now.... Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 38 03-13-2003 11:02 PM
RED ZONE stickstome2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-02-2001 09:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com