Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2005, 01:06 PM
·[-_-]· Richon ·[-_-]·  Richon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Viña del Mar , Chile
Posts: 303
Default K8V SE Deluxe : Promise or Via for SATA Hardrives?

exactly... just the question..... i've tried both and see no diference.....although it should be some, isn't it???

and, why when conected a 120GB SATA Western Digital to the Promise controler as a IDE mode 6...when formating take a lot more than usual....(you know SATA drive get very fast formated)
__________________
Powerbook 12" 1,5Ghz 1,25Gb RAM
M-Box v.1.0 "the old one"
PTLE 7.0 Tiger(10.4.6)
Ministack v2 NEWERTECH FIREWIRE+SEAGATE 320Gb
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-04-2005, 05:45 AM
·[-_-]· Richon ·[-_-]·  Richon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Viña del Mar , Chile
Posts: 303
Default Re: K8V SE Deluxe : Promise or Via for SATA Hardrives?

so , there is no big difference or no difference at all if i conect the hard-drive to the Promise or Via controler?????

but i guess because one is on board and the other on the processor there must be a little difference....more stable...faster... etc...???
__________________
Powerbook 12" 1,5Ghz 1,25Gb RAM
M-Box v.1.0 "the old one"
PTLE 7.0 Tiger(10.4.6)
Ministack v2 NEWERTECH FIREWIRE+SEAGATE 320Gb
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-04-2005, 06:58 AM
Riad Riad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 1,149
Default Re: K8V SE Deluxe : Promise or Via for SATA Hardrives?

If I understand your question, you should see no real difference in connecting the SATA drive directly to your motherboard or a dedicated controller card.

Make sure you disable RAID in the mobo BIOS.

I have not heard that SATA drives format quicker than IDE drives, if you have the 10K Raptor drives then they may format slightly faster because they are faster drives, but nothing very noticable.

Rob
__________________
www.carvelstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-04-2005, 09:26 AM
Straatocastoer Straatocastoer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Hollis, NH, USA
Posts: 401
Default Re: K8V SE Deluxe : Promise or Via for SATA Hardrives?

I built my computer on the K8V Deluxe, and while in process I called Asus to ask them what the difference would be. I was advised by Asus to use the Promise controller for a more stable environment. They really didn't have much else to say about the subject really. I have my SATA drives connected to the Promise controller and have had a very stable system.
__________________
-Stan-

CrossFire Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS K8V SE Deluxe & SATA Problem... RCAinTN 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 01-11-2007 10:02 AM
A8V- Deluxe SATA dramas the purple void 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 11-02-2005 12:28 PM
Asus A8V Deluxe motherboard SATA setup jimbouy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-19-2005 10:12 AM
K8V SE DELUXE/ WINXP CAN'T FIND SATA HD'S powerjoe 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 03-07-2005 02:07 AM
Asus K8V Models- K8V- K8V Deluxe - K8V deluxe SE zepp9 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-04-2004 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com