Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2018, 08:10 AM
readymedia readymedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Berlin
Posts: 16
Default Anyone uses DELL Laptop G5 15 i7-8750H 16Gb RAM?

Hello there!

May anyone uses Pro Tools 11 (or 12) with DELL G5 15 Laptop with Coffee Lake i7-8750H and 16GB RAM and Intel HM370 chipset? The laptop is labeled as a Gaming Laptop.

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Dell-G5-15-5587-i5-8300H-GTX-1060-Max-Q-SSD-IPS-Laptop-Review.312816.0.html


Thanks!, A.
__________________
me, M6700/i7quad/Win7 + PT11/Ableton
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2018, 12:37 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,866
Default Re: Anyone uses DELL Laptop G5 15 i7-8750H 16Gb RAM?

I use a Dell laptop as my mobile rig with HD Native Thunderbolt. It's the XPS 15 9550. It works really well and can handle large sessions with video out of the AJ 4kIO. Dell makes a nice laptop.
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-2018, 11:41 PM
TNM TNM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,403
Default Re: Anyone uses DELL Laptop G5 15 i7-8750H 16Gb RAM?

zero wrong with gaming laptops for audio. They are only gaming laptops cause they have gaming video cards.. for example you'll find identical components in some of dell workstation laptops, simply minus the dedicated graphics.

The one I recommend is the Acer Helios 500, if you are willing to go 17". Far superior laptop to the dell g5, and with much better connectivity also.

And yeah, it can also play any game on the planet :)
__________________
-iMac Pro 3.2ghz 8 Core, 64GB Ram, Vega 56, OS 10.14.6/Win10 Pro, TB3 Dock & 4xSSD, Apollo8 x2 + Octopre x2, Microlite x2, Midi Synths galore, PT 2019.12
-MBP 15" 2.8ghz 4 core, 16gb ram, 750M, triple boot OS 10.12.6/10.13.6/10.14.6, On board analog audio out, PT 12/2018/2019
-Whenever I launch Pro Tools, I get wet.(™) Best DAW ever.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools with Dell XPS 8700 Desktop PC Intel Ci7-4790 16GB baxteradio Windows 0 07-25-2015 03:33 PM
Dell Laptop??? Braveheart 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-09-2009 05:51 PM
Dell or HP laptop? groovilator 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-31-2007 08:44 PM
If I Don't Use my Dell Laptop ...... ShakaBrah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-08-2005 09:15 PM
Anyone using a Dell laptop? DCDil 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-08-2004 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com