Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Dock

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2019, 11:42 PM
Brettster Brettster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 18
Default Can you take markers with the dock?

Simple question, sorry if this is answered somewhere else. Just wanna take marker notes with the dock/ipad and can't figure it out.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2019, 08:25 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,962
Default Re: Can you take markers with the dock?

You can create markers on the fly with the PT|Dock (soft key page 15) , but I've never seen a way to fill the marker name text with the Dock alone. You can set PT to auto-name markers. What are you trying to do exactly?
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
www.nathanielreichman.com
www.dubway.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2019, 05:41 PM
Brettster Brettster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 18
Default Re: Can you take markers with the dock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by reichman View Post
You can create markers on the fly with the PT|Dock (soft key page 15) , but I've never seen a way to fill the marker name text with the Dock alone. You can set PT to auto-name markers. What are you trying to do exactly?
For podcasts, I take a lot of markers and typically label them with short notes for going back and editing later. If you can take markers at all, that's better than nothing, but I wish there was a way to custom-name them somehow.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2019, 07:13 PM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,962
Default Re: Can you take markers with the dock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brettster View Post
For podcasts, I take a lot of markers and typically label them with short notes for going back and editing later. If you can take markers at all, that's better than nothing, but I wish there was a way to custom-name them somehow.
If you uncheck "auto-name memory locations when playing," then you can hit "create marker" and name it with a wireless keyboard. No matter how long you take to name it, it will be placed in the timeline at the moment you hit create.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
www.nathanielreichman.com
www.dubway.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can Dock and C/24 be used together? s.d. finley Pro Tools | Dock 3 12-23-2017 02:16 PM
Suggestion: Users of S3&Dock together: dock fader becomes 5th VCA master fader bassmagnetic Pro Tools | Dock 0 10-01-2016 09:20 AM
Beat Markers Appearing As Elastic Audio Markers Fabdickson Pro Tools 9 1 03-06-2012 06:03 PM
How to turn all Event Markers into Warp Markers ??? fman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 04-29-2011 02:46 PM
All Event markers to warp markers? audioluche Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 01-11-2010 07:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com