Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-13-2019, 01:58 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,889
Default Re: HDX PT 2018 CPU Spikes AAE -9171 Halts Playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.engineer View Post
Howard thanks for being a tesing bench for all of us, it's really helpful to see the processes you're going through. I've been experiencing a graphical issue in PT 2018.12 on 10.13.6 with an updated graphics card (AMD Radeon R9 280X 3GB) with an old Apple 27" LED Cinema display. I was getting so fed up I plugged in a cheap Asus 24" 1080p screen via HDMI and not only did my graphical lag go away but my CPU spikes were less frequent as well.

I noticed in your system specs that you still have the stock 5770 card, I would replace that ASAP with a Metal compatibile graphics card https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208898

You may run into isses with power connectors but if you're handy with a soldering iron (or know someone who is) you can splice the HDX power cable into one of the graphics card power cables. The HDX power cable is only used for the fan.

There is also the AMD RX 560 4GB which doesn't require power cables. There's a lot of information about graphics cards and some don't show the boot screen, so check before you buy.

Also, your system drive is a 6G drive and, though I'm sure it isn't a problem, the Mac Pro 5,1 is maximum 3G speed on the SATA bus. I am about to upgrade to a PCIe M.2 SSD blade for my boot drive, I will report back!

Lastly, have you considered upgrading your 2.93 CPUs for the 3.46 X5690?

I know it's yet more money to drop (especially when, like me, you've just paid the premium for Pro Tools Ultimate) but could be cheaper in the long run.

You may have done some of the things I've suggested, but if you haven't good luck!
Thanks for your post and info.

I will go thru it in more detail... just running errands with my wife right now, but she’s shopping so I can sneak in a post..

Although my original video card is working well with my displays, it certainly could be a culprit. I have been procrastinating on that because I don’t know which card to get yet and really like to be able to hold option on startup to select system drive. Yes on soldering and it would be good to be ready for Mojave.

The most curious thing to me is that it seems the system seems to work well with Pro Tools 10 on Mountain Lion, with HDX card... no CPU Spikes are apparent there!

I have tried the 6G SSD on the drive slide on the slow Sata buss as well as on a Sonnett PCIe card that fits two SSD drives, no diff.

I am filling a notebook with a log of tests, the short story is nothing seems to make a difference with Pro Tools 2018-12 or -10.... CPU Spikes seem to go from bad to worst depending on the weather, so to speak.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-13-2019, 02:58 PM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 138
Default Re: HDX PT 2018 CPU Spikes AAE -9171 Halts Playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by Howardk View Post
Thanks for your post and info.

The most curious thing to me is that it seems the system seems to work well with Pro Tools 10 on Mountain Lion, with HDX card... no CPU Spikes are apparent there!
+1 to that!

I was running Mavericks 10.9.4 with HD 11.2.2 and it was wonderful but I was getting worried about being 'behind the curve' what with updates to plugins that I couldn't access and firefox and chrome soon to lose support so I thought it was time to take the plunge.

Getting my system 'back to where it was' has been a struggle and a money pit that is extremely frustrating.

I don't know where you're based but MacVidCards in the US will help you find a compatible graphics card with boot screen, here in the UK create.pro are a company championing the Mac Pro 5,1 and in Denmark there's biglittlefrank.dk.

If you can find a company or someone near you with a 3.46 12-core tray with loads of ram and heft graphics card, I'd ask them nicely if you could borrow it for some tests!
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 240GB OWC 3G Electra System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
High Sierra 10.13.6 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-14-2019, 12:01 AM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,889
Default Re: HDX PT 2018 CPU Spikes AAE -9171 Halts Playback

Hi James

How is performance with your system at present with regard to CPU spikes, abilitiy to run native AAX plug-ins, AAE -9171 or 9173 halts etc?

Howard
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-14-2019, 02:08 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 138
Default Re: HDX PT 2018 CPU Spikes AAE -9171 Halts Playback

See attached for my cpu usage for a session with over 60 tracks. I currently have that session looping with the entire mix coming out of multiple outputs and being routed back into a pair of inputs with input monitoring on.

It hasn't dropped out yet!

Recording test will be today so will let you know.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	JW CPU Usage 2019_01_14.png
Views:	0
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	11278  
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 240GB OWC 3G Electra System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
High Sierra 10.13.6 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-14-2019, 11:19 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 138
Default Re: HDX PT 2018 CPU Spikes AAE -9171 Halts Playback

Recording session went flawlessly.

But then listening back to some other sessions with no plugins I had a couple of dropouts for no apparent reason. As you said howardk like the weather!

And a freaky MIDI bug that is seriously not good. A bug that deletes all the MIDI on a track when you write one note.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 240GB OWC 3G Electra System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
High Sierra 10.13.6 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-14-2019, 04:50 PM
Howardk Howardk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Canada, just past the line!
Posts: 1,889
Default Re: HDX PT 2018 CPU Spikes AAE -9171 Halts Playback

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.engineer View Post
Recording session went flawlessly.

But then listening back to some other sessions with no plugins I had a couple of dropouts for no apparent reason. As you said howardk like the weather!

And a freaky MIDI bug that is seriously not good. A bug that deletes all the MIDI on a track when you write one note.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's strange behavior! Neither of which I have seen.

I did see a couple strange events on my system a) audio segments/regions went missing/off-line from a session, and I had to relink by name and the files where still within the session's Audio Files folder. b) Pro Tools corrupted a source file when I was importing into a track for reference. . . both strange occurrences I have never seen happen before. I have been using Pro Tools HD since 1998 (had a 5 card Mix system with a couple samplecell cards in an expansion chassis) and moved to Accel when it first came out and eventually grew it to HD7. . . I have never felt as nervous using Pro Tools as I do right now with 2018 Ultimate.

Aside from the strange occurrences. . . I sure would like to know when these "weather related" CPU spikes made their way into Pro Tools HD. . . which versions of OS X/Pro Tools? and what the remedy is?

Does replacing the Video card with a more capable Model make the difference to eliminate these CPU Spike/log jams?

Last edited by Howardk; 01-14-2019 at 08:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9171 Errors luke88 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 10-12-2017 05:50 PM
12.5 bug report AAE error -9171 solarduan Pro Tools 12 10 11-21-2016 10:29 AM
9171 error with HDX but not with Aggregate I/O pklein Pro Tools 12 0 07-15-2016 08:57 PM
Anyone having -9171/-9172 errors on 12? rinky Pro Tools 12 2 03-25-2015 11:32 AM
PT 11.2 with HDX 9171 error David Sandwisch Pro Tools Software (Win) 5 12-02-2014 08:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com