Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2004, 03:13 AM
Gods Mistake Gods Mistake is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 59
Default What is PT missing?

I've been told recently that Logic has far better midi capabilities than PTLE does, but not being wealthy, I can't splash out on a copy.
I have noticed that midi editing is (for me) not perfect sometimes, but with the little computer DAW knowledge I have, I do alright.
But what are the main differences between them, midi specific (soft-synth wise), as I find the audio side of PTLE perfect (once again, for me)
Are there certain midi operations Logic, or any other DAW has, that are essential for speedy music making (the holy grail)?

BTW, I'm on a Mac, so it would be Logic 6 - hope that helps
__________________
- I am deaf -
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2004, 10:18 AM
sharkfin sharkfin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: LA, Ca. USA
Posts: 25
Default Re: What is PT missing?

The Midi editing functions in Logic are still light years ahead of PT, as well as using notation, multiple audio cards at the same time, etc. In addition Logic 6 supports inter application connecting (soft synths) with os9. Digi only supports this using OSX and PT6 software. In addition Logic supports VST which allows you to use other VST based soft synths.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2004, 03:35 PM
davetron5000 davetron5000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 324
Default Re: What is PT missing?

I think he's asking what sort of functions does Logic have the PT doesn't?

Personally, ProTools works OK for me MIDI editing wise, and I don't run into situations where it doesn't do what I need it to. But, I edit on the piano roll always, so I don't miss the notation view I had in Cakewalk (e.g.)
__________________
MacBook Pro Core Duo 1.83
2 Gig RAM
OS X 10.4.8
002R/PTLE 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools HD 10.3.6 - iZotope RX3 DlgDenoiser 'missing plugin' isn't missing paranerd Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 10-03-2013 08:39 AM
1 band EQ settings missing and Xpand missing? rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 5 02-19-2012 05:33 PM
Missing fade files, missing audio in resaved sesssions drygruo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-14-2010 05:56 PM
Pro tools says Files Missing but they're NOT missing.... nealobrien 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-13-2008 07:09 PM
missing audio files are actually not missing tomcat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 12-24-2006 03:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com