Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2000, 12:00 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: 001 with en external mixer-dif. set-up.....

Are you set to 128 samples? I can't really hear 2.9ms at 44.1Khz. Midi inconsistencies are generally more than that.

The only time I've noticed it is in headphones listening to my own voice: the sound comes from both earcups instead of being centered in my head.

I've heard of some midi devices having timing problems. Have you explored that possibility?



------------------
LW
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-18-2000, 01:43 AM
petter petter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 738
Default 001 with en external mixer-dif. set-up.....

My plan was to use the 001 mixer as the main mixer and the Mackie LM3204 as an submixer (mostly for Midi-synths....) :
Input 1 and 2 (001) reserved for microfon in , 3 and4 -the Mackie mixer , 5,6,7,8 for some effect units!
Out 1 and 2 (main) -to "monitor" and dig out (main) to the DAT machine.
....but when I start to experiment I was very disappointed about the latency "business" ! I can heare-it anytime and.....
OK, I could compensate the Midi part by "moving" everyting a couple of samples "to the left" (but not so easy because....-
belive-it or not I still use my Atari-Notator for Midi!!!)... and still the effects units will be affected, but...ok...it works....
So, it looks like I have to do-it the other way around ! ...but I really hoped that the first "plan" will work...
Am I missing someting here???? If you have some ideas, please let me know!!
Thanks!/P
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2000, 07:00 AM
petter petter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 738
Default Re: 001 with en external mixer-dif. set-up.....

.....Yes,128 samples are OK.....but I’m still
not very happy in Mix situation when I have
the MIDI stuff and the ext. effects delayed... So...it´s not just the monitor....
Thanks for answering!/P.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2000, 07:06 AM
petter petter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 738
Default Re: 001 with en external mixer-dif. set-up.....

.....and Yes I know about MIDI delay.
I´ve got some ptoblems on my MC505 Roland
(belive-it or not!! thay call-it the groove
box...)....but I am talking about latency....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 7 and External Mixer/HUI bo fitz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-17-2006 02:41 AM
Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer cdp2004 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 07-21-2004 10:04 AM
002 + external mixer? pk_hat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-13-2002 10:04 PM
PT with external mixer - What do you think of this setup? Richard Warren 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-12-2002 01:55 AM
external mixer routing Ignatius Reilly 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 05-31-2001 12:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com