Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2012, 01:36 AM
patsilvawpg patsilvawpg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 5
Default problem c24 and outboard pre amps

do i need a patch bay , or can i run using db25 line input from female xlr output on my outboard pre amp or does that still engage c24 pre amp?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2012, 07:37 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,147
Default Re: problem c24 and outboard pre amps

The C24 has both line and mic inputs. Feed the outboard preamps to the line inputs(so you can select them on the C24), or bypass the C24 and feed outboard preamps directly to the interface.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2012, 03:16 AM
patsilvawpg patsilvawpg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 5
Default Re: problem c24 and outboard pre amps

okay ,so if i feed them to the line input the pre amps in the c24 will not be active ,?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,147
Default Re: problem c24 and outboard pre amps

Not exactly. You will bypass a gain stage, but not everything analog. My 2 cents only, but I doubt you will hear a difference(but by all means, do a comparison). This way gives you lots of control, as you can select an outboard preamp, or the onboard preamp with a button push. You might have different sources patched and switch between by choosing which path for a given strip. The other option is to hardware the outboard preamp, directly to your interface(which you haven't mentioned). Using a patchbay is the 3rd option and offers lots of flexibility, but that comes with a price; a fair amount of cash for good quality bay(s) and patch cables(you don't want to skimp here), and you increase the number of potential failed connections in a big way. Give your needs a lot of thought before going the patchbay route. Not saying you SHOULDN'T use one, just suggesting you be certain you really need it
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2012, 10:23 PM
P,B,S P,B,S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: themoon
Posts: 286
Default Re: problem c24 and outboard pre amps

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
The C24 has both line and mic inputs. Feed the outboard preamps to the line inputs(so you can select them on the C24), or bypass the C24 and feed outboard preamps directly to the interface.
That will work but I disagree with albee on this.
YOU WILL HEAR A BIG DIFFERENCE . If there is any possible way to not send them through the C24 dont , it just sends them through the same signal you thought need,d to be upgraded in the first place.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up Control 24 and outboard pre amps with New HD I/O 16 X 16 analog Interface kralph ICON & C|24 8 08-15-2012 02:21 PM
Mbox 3 Pre amps vs. External Pre amps? evanbgrove 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-10-2011 06:21 AM
Mbox 2 pro... Pre Amps (vs) 003 Pre... Amps Norm Mix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-24-2009 03:37 AM
Latency on in/out through outboard v. no outboard? Animal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-10-2005 09:55 AM
001 w/ outboard fx->SPDIF problem bebopxx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-31-2002 08:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com