Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2012, 05:52 AM
gali_kz0 gali_kz0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 12
Default PT 10.1.3 takes a long time to startup

Hi,

Short version :
---------------

Just upgraded to PT10 (10.1.3), was using PT 9.0.6 before.

Reinstalled my OS : Lion 10.7.3 and clean PT 10.1.3 install (Erased my disk before installing Lion)

When I launch it, it takes 1 minute to get to the splash screen, and then another minute to get past "Loading protools..." (the first message on the splash screen)

After that, the time to get to the quick start screen is ok (plugins initialisation).



Long Version :
--------------

The same problem occurs with the following MacOS versions (everytime, formatting before MacOS installation) :

- 10.7.4
- 10.7.3
- 10.6.8

And also with :
- Protools 10.0.0
- Protools 10.1.3

I have NO 3rd party plugins installed, and no 3rd party appliacations (only Protools, the PACE driver and the M-Audio Profire 2626 driver (latest version))

I tried the solutions listed on those threads :

http://duc.avid.com/search.php?searc...3&pp=25&page=4
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t...ight=long+time
http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php...r=desc&page=64
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=310913
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=311662
http://duc.avid.com/archive/index.php/t-307449.html
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=313826

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...983?popup=true
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...059?popup=true
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...791?popup=true

But basically :

- Defined ALL my drives as private in Spotlight
- Thrashed PT preferences/database
- ALL my network devices set to "Off" in system preferences (ethernet, wifi, firewire)

I really don't know what else to try... (it seems like a timetout of some sort to me but I don't know)

So if anyone has any idea, I'm willing to take a chance.

Thank you,

GaLi
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2012, 12:31 PM
gali_kz0 gali_kz0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 12
Default Re: PT 10.1.3 takes a long time to startup

Since my "Macintosh HD" was a software stripped RAID array, I tried to reinstall MacOS and ProTools on a standard partition (not RAID).

No Luck, still the same issue
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2012, 04:40 PM
gali_kz0 gali_kz0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 12
Default Re: PT 10.1.3 takes a long time to startup

Juste tested with PT 10.2.0 but same issue too
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT takes a long time to save. JWalkerVS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-15-2015 06:13 PM
PT 10 takes long time to open anackman macOS 17 11-14-2011 06:33 AM
Pro Tools takes a very long time to load / startup (and quits unexpectedly often) kingtinker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 19 03-04-2011 12:20 PM
Takes long time to open PT-MP Ben Uytjens Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 12-29-2008 05:09 PM
Bouncing: Man, it takes a long time. underbiteman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-11-2004 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com