Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2004, 09:50 AM
cdp2004 cdp2004 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer


Need some help. When I run my Mbox straight to my powered monitors everything is fine. But when I run it to my mixer I get this hum in which I can hear the harddrive running. I've tried grounding everything possible thing. I've switched to balanced cables,trs cables. I've heard of people having this problem with the Mbox. But haven't heard a fix for it yet. I also have a M-audio sound card in my system that I keep disable.

Thanks in advance


AMD 2500 Barton
512 ram
Mator hard drives (2)
MSI
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2004, 10:17 AM
Captain_Pants Captain_Pants is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,993
Default Re: Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer

What kind of mixer?

I have a noisy Behringer mixer I try to avoid using.
__________________
Ill suffer winter alone;
ten thousand miles from home...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2004, 10:23 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer

If it's a Mackie.. move it away from the computer... it's not shielded.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2004, 01:44 PM
cdp2004 cdp2004 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default Re: Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer

I'm using a Tascam M-08. Looking at it, it's not a ground mixer. But I've never had a ground hum until I plugin in my M-box
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-16-2004, 01:45 PM
cdp2004 cdp2004 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default Re: Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer

I will have to try moving it and see if that will help
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-16-2004, 02:37 PM
lemix's Avatar
lemix lemix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 10,894
Default Re: Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer

cdp2004 ,
You should be powering all your audio equipment as well as your PC from the same, isolated, clean and properly grounded AC source.
A TRS balanced, quality cable to your mixer must be used. If still have "hum", try unbalanced from Mbox to balanced into the Tascam mixer.

hope this helps,
cheers,
__________________
cheers,
Andrew


W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.3 / PT 12.4 ------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_DMG and more
2.0 and 5.1 monitoring
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2004, 03:02 PM
cdp2004 cdp2004 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default Re: Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer

I'm still getting the same problem. I'm wonder if I got a USB PCI card would that help
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-17-2004, 03:42 PM
cdp2004 cdp2004 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default Re: Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer

After weeks of trying I have found the answer to it in my system. It wasn't the MBOX, PC or Mixer. I found that my EMU keyboard I had plugin into my mixer was the cause of a ground loop. So I had to put $1.50 ground adapter on it and it worked like a charm. If I had known that I would have done it sooner. Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-17-2004, 04:12 PM
Jorge442 Jorge442 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 1,242
Default Re: Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer

what΄s a ground adapter?


thanks

jorge
__________________
what a long, strange trip it΄s been

www.abacomusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-17-2004, 07:15 PM
cdp2004 cdp2004 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 23
Default Re: Need help Hum with the Mbox and external mixer

It coverts a 3 prong plugin into a 2 prong to break the ground. You can pretty much get them anywhere. I picked one up at Home Depot
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help setting up Mbox and an external mixer asiabackpacker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-23-2005 12:28 PM
external mixer and mbox littleRO General Discussion 2 07-20-2004 05:50 AM
Mbox & External Mixer BroMdo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-25-2004 04:11 PM
Mbox with an external mixer Blair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-25-2002 01:07 AM
can mbox handle an external mixer?? mattsullivan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-11-2002 01:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com