Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-27-2008, 12:54 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,788
Default Re: Midi Beat Clock while in loop mode, is completely broken.

Here's the explanation of behavior of MBC in Pro Tools:

MBC Looping

Pro Tools currently loops around MIDI Beat Clock (MBC) when playing in a loop. This feature is needed for instrument plug-ins with built-in sequencers or processing algorithms that rely on looped MBC messages for accurate operation, for example Synchronic. While most external devices should not have a problem with quick jumps of Song Position Pointer (SPP) messages, certain hardware sequencers will behave erratically at the loop point.

The exact MIDI event sequence at the loop point is as follows:
<Stop>
<Song Position Pointer> (pointing to the loop start location)
<Continue>

Other sequencer applications on the market today solve this problem by not looping MBC signals at all, i.e. even though the internal transport will play in a loop the MBC clock signal will continue “straight” and not contain SPP messages. Susceptible hardware sequencers will thus run without hiccups.

We are looking to introduce a preference that will allow users to switch between looped and unlooped MBC clock. Even though we’re well aware of the severity of this issue for some users we cannot discuss a release timeframe at this time. Thank you for your understanding and your continued support!
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-16-2010, 03:03 AM
matthewstyles matthewstyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Default Re: Midi Beat Clock while in loop mode, is completely broken.

Bump this thread, any news here digidesign?? its been 18 months.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-12-2010, 10:49 PM
joji joji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 125
Default Re: Midi Beat Clock while in loop mode, is completely broken.

Bumbp again

I am going crazy. I am trying to use the awesome Native instrumetn plugins like Session Strings. They wont sync correctly if I have a lot of tracks.

Also if I have a bunch of midi tracks open If I put the record on a middi track. the the music is not in sync and there is latency on the keyboard. but if I turn off Delay compensation then the keyboard note play in better but there seems to be some kind of latency between midid and audio.

Is Digi going to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-15-2010, 05:02 PM
joji joji is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 125
Default Re: Midi Beat Clock while in loop mode, is completely broken.

please help digi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Audio has been broken forever.. completely fed up!! luts macOS 5 12-19-2012 12:00 PM
Pro Tools Slaved by Midi Time Code or Midi Beat Clock DarylBham MIDI 5 06-14-2009 02:55 PM
MIDI BEAT CLOCK STILL Bad on PT 7.1.1 alx002 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 29 12-10-2006 12:59 PM
Triton...is MIDI Clock difrnt than MIDI Beat Clock BookSix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-12-2006 01:24 AM
Pro Tools is completely broken.... :op WATYF 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-27-2005 11:02 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com