Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2015, 10:10 AM
Maxidingue Maxidingue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default Please could you explain

Hi,

I want to upgrade my setup from Protools native to Protools HD
It seems that AVID produce 3 Bundles with I/O digital interface (Omni, 8/8/8 or 16/16) and PCI card or thunderbolt box
When i watch the bundles picture on google image it seems that the thunderbolt box is a very small one (just like my old MBox 3) but the PCI card is a long one, full of DSP
Could you explain if the dsp and chips are the same in the thunderbolt system and the one with the PCI card ?

Sincerely yours
MaxIdingUe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2015, 11:18 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Please could you explain

Three varieties of HD cards:
  1. HDX: PCIe, has DSP
  2. HD Native: PCIe, no DSP
  3. HD Native Thunderbolt: Thunderbolt, no DSP

I/O boxes, sync, and Omni can be connected to any of the three. There are also third-party I/O boxes
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2015, 11:21 AM
Maxidingue Maxidingue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Please could you explain

Many Thanks Mesaone it is now clear for me

Sincerely yours
MaxIDInguE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2015, 02:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,310
Default Re: Please could you explain

And, the Native card(PCIe) is a fairly short card.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2015, 02:15 PM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: Please could you explain

And the HD Native Thunderbolt is basically a HD Native PCIE in a custom Thunderbolt chassis. I've seen inside one.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2015, 03:51 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,310
Default Re: Please could you explain

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
And the HD Native Thunderbolt is basically a HD Native PCIE in a custom Thunderbolt chassis. I've seen inside one.
But, AFAIK, the card in the Thunderbolt box cannot be removed and placed in a PCIe slot(while a PCIe card CAN be installed in a TB chassis).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2015, 07:35 PM
21 Junipers 21 Junipers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fayetteville, AR
Posts: 68
Default Re: Please could you explain

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
But, AFAIK, the card in the Thunderbolt box cannot be removed and placed in a PCIe slot(while a PCIe card CAN be installed in a TB chassis).
An Avid chassis? I bought mine when they were first announced and there were no external options. I can see a day however that the machine it resides in will no longer be playing host.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2015, 10:23 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,533
Default Re: Please could you explain

Quote:
Originally Posted by 21 Junipers View Post
An Avid chassis? I bought mine when they were first announced and there were no external options. I can see a day however that the machine it resides in will no longer be playing host.
Any thunderbolt chassis will do if you buy the stand alone native pcie card. Well any... go with some that has been known to work like the Magma and or sonnet thunderbolt chassis.
__________________
Manny.

https://wn.nr/JWU7cA
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2015, 12:47 PM
Maxidingue Maxidingue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Please could you explain

Hi Emcha_Audio
Just bought a sonnet thunderbolt Chassis and Native PCIe
I have a Slate Digital Raven MTi and Protools HD seems more efficiency with it
Now i have to find an HD software version !!!!!
Not so easy (;-(
Cheers
MaxIdingue
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could someone explain me something about ADC please? mixaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-21-2008 05:14 PM
Some that can explain this to me . jeam25 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-23-2008 11:30 PM
Can Someone Explain This??? Tricky Sam Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-25-2006 11:02 AM
please explain....... Super Seven General Discussion 7 06-25-2002 12:50 PM
Can anyone explain this?! lynxxx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-07-2002 07:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com