Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2019, 05:42 PM
Ray Lyon Ray Lyon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 724
Default High Sierra HDX 2019.5 not seeing Avid 192

I recently upgraded to PT 2019.5 on Sierra (10.12.6) and everything went smoothly.

Decided to upgrade to High Sierra. (10.13.6)

Everything seems properly installed but Pro Tools is not seeing my Avid 192 I/O interface or Pro Tools HDX card . Everything seems to be running in native, defaulting to "Soundflower" in the Hardware setup dialogue. (Whatever that is)

I've tried trashing all prefs (via PT Prefs utility) reinstalling the 2019.5 HD Driver as well as PT 2019.5, shutting down and restarting both 192 and MacPro all to no avail.

Neither the Finder, Setup App or Pro Tools sees the Avid 192, or seemingly, the HDX card. The card is not shown in the CPU usage meter.

Alas, I did not do a "clean install" of High Sierra, but have never had problems upgrading like this in the past.

See specs below... and thanks fer any help
__________________
Ray Lyon on Facebook
www.raylyon.com

• Mac Pro 5,1 flashed 2009 model 4,1
• 12-core 2.93ghz "Westmere", 64 GB RAM
• OS 10.12.6 Sierra, PT 2019.5
• One plug-in too many, but I really like FabFilter Pro-Q 3
• Avid HDX, Revive Audio modded Avid 192 I/O
• Avid MIDI I/O, Avid Command|8
• 256GB SSD, (2) 2TB ext. drive
• NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2048 MB
• Samsung 34" SE790C display (3440x1440), Acer 23" A231H Display
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2019, 06:18 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,794
Default Re: High Sierra HDX 2019.5 not seeing Avid 192

Restart your computer and then check if Audio MIDI Setup shows any System sounds/icons attached to your Pro Tools HDX entry there. If so, move them to something else.

Then try opening Pro Tools.

Also, check if your iLok software is up-to-date and right click on the key with licenses and hit "synchronize." That's in case it isn't reading your Digilink I/O license on your ilok.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.5, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD Omni • Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6 • RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2019, 07:41 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 809
Default Re: High Sierra HDX 2019.5 not seeing Avid 192

Did pt install update hdx firmware?

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-07-2019, 07:53 PM
Ray Lyon Ray Lyon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 724
Default Re: High Sierra HDX 2019.5 not seeing Avid 192

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Restart your computer and then check if Audio MIDI Setup shows any System sounds/icons attached to your Pro Tools HDX entry there. If so, move them to something else.

Then try opening Pro Tools.

Also, check if your iLok software is up-to-date and right click on the key with licenses and hit "synchronize." That's in case it isn't reading your Digilink I/O license on your ilok.

Hi, thanks for your reply. I got it to work following the instructions here. http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/T...13-High-Sierra

Now I can't get MIDI to work, it will play back MIDI tracks but won't play MIDI from keyboard. Under MIDI input device the keyboard controller is missing.
__________________
Ray Lyon on Facebook
www.raylyon.com

• Mac Pro 5,1 flashed 2009 model 4,1
• 12-core 2.93ghz "Westmere", 64 GB RAM
• OS 10.12.6 Sierra, PT 2019.5
• One plug-in too many, but I really like FabFilter Pro-Q 3
• Avid HDX, Revive Audio modded Avid 192 I/O
• Avid MIDI I/O, Avid Command|8
• 256GB SSD, (2) 2TB ext. drive
• NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2048 MB
• Samsung 34" SE790C display (3440x1440), Acer 23" A231H Display
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2019, 08:35 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: High Sierra HDX 2019.5 not seeing Avid 192

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Lyon View Post
...Now I can't get MIDI to work, it will play back MIDI tracks but won't play MIDI from keyboard. Under MIDI input device the keyboard controller is missing.
Hi Ray - I assume your keyboard is set up in AudioMidi Setup?
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2019, 01:11 PM
Ray Lyon Ray Lyon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Waynesville, NC
Posts: 724
Default Re: High Sierra HDX 2019.5 not seeing Avid 192

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Breen View Post
Hi Ray - I assume your keyboard is set up in AudioMidi Setup?
Yes, it's there now, it wasn't last night when I gave up. This morning however, MIDI started working. I have no idea how or why, it just started working!

Incidentally, I have found 10.13.6 to be a just a tad more sluggish and CPU intensive than 10.12.6 and would not recommend users of cheese-grater 5,1 Macs upgrade to High Sierra. A klutzy firmware update is involved, as well as an undocumented step where you have to "allow" (in System Preferences Security/Privacy) an Avid extension to load. Why they didn't mention this in their installation instructions was a bad oversight.

Also, in High Sierra, if you have a high res or dual monitors you need a "metal" capable video card. Stock 5,1 MacPro's don't have this. Thankfully I already use one but many considering an OSX upgrade won't. I should have stayed on Sierra! But at least I'm back in business. Thanks and its good to hear from you!
__________________
Ray Lyon on Facebook
www.raylyon.com

• Mac Pro 5,1 flashed 2009 model 4,1
• 12-core 2.93ghz "Westmere", 64 GB RAM
• OS 10.12.6 Sierra, PT 2019.5
• One plug-in too many, but I really like FabFilter Pro-Q 3
• Avid HDX, Revive Audio modded Avid 192 I/O
• Avid MIDI I/O, Avid Command|8
• 256GB SSD, (2) 2TB ext. drive
• NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2048 MB
• Samsung 34" SE790C display (3440x1440), Acer 23" A231H Display
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question: Sierra or High Sierra for PTHD 2018.3? johnnyv Pro Tools 2018 25 03-18-2018 08:30 PM
Pro Tools 2018.1.0 does not recognize AVID MBOX Pro under High Sierra 10.3.3 ... 2arabigo Pro Tools 2018 10 03-02-2018 02:07 PM
Avid profile FW32x High Sierra Drivers carlossa VENUE Live Sound Systems 0 02-22-2018 10:10 AM
Avid preference folder missing in High Sierra (10.13.2) GuitarGuy92 macOS 2 01-09-2018 04:54 PM
Why are Avid Interfaces Not supported on High Sierra ? K Roche Pro Tools 12 5 12-20-2017 04:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com