Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-2019, 08:51 AM
markuse markuse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 44
Default Artist addressing wrong track

Sighhh,

my Artists drive me nuts..

When using the Artist Mix or Control to open the EQ or adjust the Aux sends, quite often it would do that on the wrong track - meaning not on the track that's selected in the edit window. Instead the artist would address a neighbouring track. It's really annoying. On good days it's happening every now and then, on bad days though it feels like 30 - 40% of my adjustments happen on the wrong track.

I'm running a support case but it's tricky to reproduce as it comes and goes.
It's happening with both of my Artist controllers so I don't think it's a hardware bug. Also a colleague stopped using his Artists that way because of the same issue.

I'm wondering if anybody else is having that problem on a regular basis?

PT ULTIMATE 2018.12.0
EUCON 18.3.0.244
FIRMWARE up to date


Many thanks,
Markus
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-16-2019, 10:15 AM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Artist addressing wrong track

Quote:
Originally Posted by markuse View Post
Sighhh,

my Artists drive me nuts..

I'm wondering if anybody else is having that problem on a regular basis?

Many thanks,
Markus
Nope!

Check EuControl... make sure the controllers are loaded in the proper order, because that directly relates to which tracks show on a particular controller.

For example:

If this is the order from top to bottom...

Control = CH's 1-4
Mix = CH's 5-12

Or,

Mix = CH's 1-8
Control = CH's 9-12

Also, make sure you have not locked any controller to specific tracks!

Al
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.25 (64bit) | HALion 6 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2019, 01:12 PM
markuse markuse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 44
Default Re: Artist addressing wrong track

Thanks Al!

I don't think it's related to the controller order as most of the time I've only connected the Artist Mix. I do use the iPad app though.

Say I have 4 tracks:
A1
A2 (selected in edit window)
A3
A4

The Artist is set to CHAN.

So what happens is:
- I press EQ on the Artist and PT opens EQ of A3 instead of A2.
- I press MIX/PAN on the Artist and PT closes EQ A3
- In the edit window I select A3, then select A2 again via keyboard
- I press EQ on the Artist and PT opens EQ of A2, as supposed.

Then it works fine for the next 10 times or so and then happens again..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-16-2019, 03:24 PM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Posts: 75
Default Re: Artist addressing wrong track

Quote:
Originally Posted by markuse View Post

The Artist is set to CHAN.

So what happens is:
- I press EQ on the Artist and PT opens EQ of A3 instead of A2.
- I press MIX/PAN on the Artist and PT closes EQ A3
- In the edit window I select A3, then select A2 again via keyboard
- I press EQ on the Artist and PT opens EQ of A2, as supposed.

Then it works fine for the next 10 times or so and then happens again..
Do you have the "Fader Touch selects channel" set in EuControl... sometimes I've accidentally touched the fader of an adjacent channel, and was surprised that I was editing the wrong channel... but I usually see that right away, because Cubase also shows the inadvertently selected channel.

But I have never had the controllers edit a different track than what was selected in the DAW.
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.41 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.5.25 (64bit) | HALion 6 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 18.3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-17-2019, 04:31 AM
markuse markuse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 44
Default Re: Artist addressing wrong track

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoPro View Post
Do you have the "Fader Touch selects channel" set in EuControl...
Thanks MoPro, that could have been a reason. But it's not checked unfortunately.

Really weird....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist Transport and EuCon - what am I doing wrong? ArKay99 Artist Series 4 11-08-2012 08:50 PM
Windows 32 bit Memory addressing TCM 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 07-19-2007 10:26 AM
where is a good forum for addressing mac problems? Michael Klinger General Discussion 5 08-15-2002 09:52 PM
What Artist/ Actor /Actress that you thought was a no-talent has proven you wrong? Roy Howell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 34 04-16-2002 10:13 AM
Digi 001 & Logic... some issues I need addressing... threesixty 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-20-2002 04:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com