Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2015, 11:43 AM
upscaps upscaps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 384
Default IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution

Long considered the world’s finest digital audio recorder, RADAR now runs Pro Tools, Nuendo, or your choice of DAW natively. RADAR studio renders both the audio PC and audio interface obsolete. Track and mix with a single, integrated, best-in-class audio appliance.

RADAR. Pro Tools. One box. Starting at $4995*


http://www.izcorp.com/



RADAR studio Key Features:

Near-zero jitter, pristine signal path and the latest converter technology

Runs Pro Tools (or any DAW of choice) - track, mix and automate, using all plug-ins and features of native DAW software

Simplicity - just arm tracks and hit record. Focus on the music

Workflow - integrate iZ Session Controller and MeterBridge for a traditional studio feel

Customizable -configurable I/O, drive bays, external media, DSP cards, and peripherals

Reliability - rock-solid, time tested performance; avoid endless techno-tweaking and mid-session reboots

World-renowned Support - comes with 10 years of free customer support.

RADAR studio is available now at an introductory price of $4,995 for a limited time. Pro Tools HD 11 is pre-installed but the user will need to provide the Pro Tools HD license key.



Quote:
Rear Panel:

HDMI DVI and VGA* video outputs. View your session externally on multiple HD monitors.
4 USB 3.0 and 4 USB 2.0 ports
Gigabit Ethernet
You now have the power and speed you need with the latest in CPU, RAM and Motherboard technology

Explore the digital world with MADI*, AES/EBU, ADATLightpipe, and TDIF.
Synchronization options include: Wordclock/video, AES 2 channel, S/PDIF, MIDI* and SMPTE*
RADAR studio is compatible with third party audio processing cards. Install your own card and away you go!
Never fall behind with the Thunderbolt option card*. The fastest transfer speeds available.
24 i/o Classic 96 or Ultra Nyquist Analog Conversion
IZ Controller connection. IZ Controller fully integrated with Pro Tools commands.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
From iZ support, posted on GS

This may help:
RADAR studio runs Pro Tools, Nuendo, Mixbus, or your choice of DAW on a super-stable, heavily customized OEM version of Windows. What this means is yes, your 3rd party plugins will work. Yes, RADAR studio runs your 3rd party audio processing cards. Yes, you can connect to the internet or another network to transfer files. Yes, you can run USB 3.0 and Thunderbolt drives and devices (Thunderbolt coming soon). Yes, you can plug in high-definition HDMI or DVI monitors. Yes indeed, with RADAR studio, you can do everything you can do on your existing studio PC - even email your mother-in-law in Nebraska- although we highly recommend using RADAR studio as a dedicated audio device.

But does RADAR still work as RADAR? Yes, of course! And don't worry; the RADAR system you've got to know on a first-name basis runs off of a completely separate solid-state system drive, so you never compromise the reliability you're used to with RADAR. Just boot into whichever mode you prefer - RADAR Mode or Workstation Mode.

The best part – it’s all in one box. That’s right, record, edit, mix in one single box. Some people enjoy cobbling together a science project of DIY franken-computers, digital audio cabling, audio and sync interfaces, DSP and interfacing cards, and hoping it works (fingers crossed). For the rest of us, there’s RADAR studio. Easy.


IZ Support:

Quote:
We built an ASIO driver for RADAR's hardware that allows the RADAR converters to act as I/O for ProTools/DAW. No messy cables or interfaces.

Workstation Mode and RADAR Mode share an Archive directory, so flying audio files back and forth between the two is a breeze.

We've completely integrated (embedded) the converters, the digital audio processing engine, and your favorite DAW software, including Pro Tools into one box! You use it like a RADAR - just plug audio into the back, and hit record - except you are recording directly into Pro Tools, or RADAR, or Nuendo, or Mixbus, or DP, or whatever you install.

On top of that - we've integrated the Session Controller (pro remote) directly into the Pro Tools work flow - which dramatically speeds up Pro Tools. Pro Tools had NEVER been so fast! No more multiple key strokes - single button direct locates now in Pro Tools - just like RADAR! Direct time code entry - just like RADAR. 36 user programmable macro keys (many more than RADAR), etc.

Everything is included. It's a turn-key system. Install whatever DAW and plug-ins you want. It's a full load system. Pro Tools comes pre-installed so if you own a Pro Tools license, simply power up, plug in your iLok, load up your plugs and hit record.

8.1 OEM, customized for stability, all CPU power goes to the DAW, not the screen saver!...we actually put our own skin called the iZ Dashboard on the user interface so users won't have to deal with the whole 8 (windows) tile thing. We will support 10 if it makes sense down the road, but only if it gives users significant advantages.

Drive noise = 0 (we only use solid state), fan noise, super quiet using optimized fan and thermal management software.

We've made it modular like all past RADARs so it's very easy to update the CPU, RAM, motherboard etc. You can do it yourself, or have iZ do it at any one our our several iTASC (iZ Technology Authorized Service Centre) locations.

So the touchscreen monitor and Virtual Session Controller total only $798. We will be showing it at NAMM with the Dell P2714T. A beautiful monitor - well made, and only $549

it does support Avid control surfaces...

Last edited by upscaps; 01-16-2015 at 01:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2015, 12:18 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution

so many question
so many potential pitfalls
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2015, 12:21 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution

So... iZ is in the PC (Pro Tools PC look out!!) business.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-15-2015, 12:24 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig F View Post
so many question
so many potential pitfalls
So true !!!

And yet So fascinating --- how does it all work - really?
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-15-2015, 12:29 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,520
Default Re: IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution

It's a PC. You run PT on it.

Seriously, that has to be it. Other than iZ making their remote and touch screen work with it of course.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-15-2015, 12:34 PM
upscaps upscaps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 384
Default Re: IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution

H
Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
So true !!!

And yet So fascinating --- how does it all work - really?
Indeed.

EDIT: questions answered by IZ support put in post #1

Last edited by upscaps; 01-16-2015 at 02:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-15-2015, 12:35 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drew Mazurek View Post
It's a PC. You run PT on it.

Seriously, that has to be it. Other than iZ making their remote and touch screen work with it of course.
A full Windows install with all the windows functions, update stuff etc?? Or maybe a proprietary (custom) version of Windows stripped down for their needs. If its a full pc then any number of user interventions could "mess" with things...

What about all the messy things - VI's - buffers - latency - various plug in authorization schemes - monitoring etc.. etc...

If its a Full PC then I probably would rather do that myself and have RADAR be a recorder box (as they always were)

If its not a Full PC then - what exactly is it?
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT2019.x Orion Studio 2017, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-15-2015, 12:40 PM
upscaps upscaps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 384
Default Re: IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
a proprietary (custom) version of Windows stripped down for their needs...

What about all the messy things - VI's - buffers - latency - various plug in authorization schemes - monitoring etc.. etc...
If it's anything like radar none of that is an issue. About as rock solid and "non-latent" as possible. It's a PC so authorizations/ilok should be the same.

I can't speak for VI's. I will never put myself thru the torture of composing on PT

I assume windows is non-customizable, stripped down, and tweaked to the optimum. Pretty much the same as a Avid Venue consoles w/ many more options.

Last edited by upscaps; 01-15-2015 at 02:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-15-2015, 12:47 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,317
Default Re: IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution

Okay, at first glance I got excited, because at first it looks like you are getting everything you see in the picture for 5 grand. But all of the IO, the touchscreen, etc. are add ons:

http://www.izcorp.com/dealers/price-a-radar/
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2015, 12:52 PM
upscaps upscaps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 384
Default Re: IZ RADAR STUDIO: RADAR x Pro Tools Turnkey Solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
Okay, at first glance I got excited, because at first it looks like you are getting everything you see in the picture for 5 grand. But all of the IO, the touchscreen, etc. are add ons:

http://www.izcorp.com/dealers/price-a-radar/
It's definitely priced like a RADAR.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radar II sync to Pro Tools ***Solved*** GuyPicks Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 06-13-2008 09:04 AM
Radar II sync to Pro Tools HD3 system GuyPicks Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 10-02-2006 12:02 PM
Otari Radar to Pro Tools transfer joesgarage Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 06-07-2006 10:33 PM
Pro-tools vs. Otari RADAR I??? tom_ General Discussion 21 10-29-2002 12:12 AM
Radar 24 To Pro Tools dwdrummer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-27-2002 07:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com