Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > The Drum Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2011, 04:33 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,998
Default Snare drum sound in superior drummer

Ive just tracked a band and they used superior drummer 2.2.2 Ive route the individual drums to seperate tracks in PT. but im finding the snare is not quite right. The big transients sound really good with lots of crack but the small transients sound horrible. Would i correct this by changing the velocity in the midi edit or can i change it in superior so all the drum hits sound nearly the same with lots of crack .



Cheers
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-22-2011, 09:08 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: Snare drum sound in superior drummer

Here is what works for me. I split out sounds to their own audio tracks and record them. Then I open the kit and select NONE for the snare sound, and re-record the overhead track. What happens for me is there is always too much snare in the overhead track for good control. This method gives you an overhead track with no snare bleed. While you may think that would be unnatural(and you are technically right), it gives you way better control of your snare within the mix. Give it a shot and see what you think.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-22-2011, 10:53 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Snare drum sound in superior drummer

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Here is what works for me. I split out sounds to their own audio tracks and record them. Then I open the kit and select NONE for the snare sound, and re-record the overhead track. What happens for me is there is always too much snare in the overhead track for good control. This method gives you an overhead track with no snare bleed. While you may think that would be unnatural(and you are technically right), it gives you way better control of your snare within the mix. Give it a shot and see what you think.
Couldn't you just turn down or turn off the snare bleed in Superior's Mixer?
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2011, 07:35 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: Snare drum sound in superior drummer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
Couldn't you just turn down or turn off the snare bleed in Superior's Mixer?
Maybe. I've never been able to make it go away(hence my "solution").
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2011, 10:21 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Snare drum sound in superior drummer

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Maybe. I've never been able to make it go away(hence my "solution").
Dig in and learn the bleed functionality of Superior. It is one of the coolest features of Superior Drummer. Each microphone has it's own mixer that can control how much of each drum/cymbal comes through it. I find myself using it quite often to bring down the hi-hat in over heads, bring snare down in OH (sometimes) and bring all but ride cymbal down in overheads to bring it out just a bit more. But on top of that, it is cool to just turn on the snare ambience on some of the further room microphones too.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-24-2011, 07:31 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: Snare drum sound in superior drummer

Good advice there. I will have to dig in
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-24-2011, 07:51 AM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,721
Default Re: Snare drum sound in superior drummer

Albee1952, Sorry for the poor word choice there. I didn't mean to come across condescending in my post, just helpful.
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-24-2011, 12:28 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,631
Default Re: Snare drum sound in superior drummer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzi45Z View Post
Albee1952, Sorry for the poor word choice there. I didn't mean to come across condescending in my post, just helpful.
I didn't see that at all. No worries
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-24-2011, 03:50 PM
cneal92's Avatar
cneal92 cneal92 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Lubbock, TX USA
Posts: 530
Default Re: Snare drum sound in superior drummer

Yeah I use the spill controls all the time! I personally think that a snare sounds its best when it's also in the overheads, generally speaking. For me the snare never comes "alive" until I bring in the overheads. The real crack of the snare comes from OHs and Room mics.

Superior is a really deep and powerful program. Go to the Toontrack website and check out the Toontrack TV > Tutorials page and watch the SD mixer and xdrum videos. If you use some of these features you can have your cake and eat it too. Well, you can have NO snare in your main overheads, but you can have your snare and the snare in your "other" overheads. :)

With the xdrums you can bring in kit pieces from another (or the same) sdx. One trick I've used is to create a x-Ride (which allows you to create another OH track which you can route the new x-snare to) and x-Snare kit. Now you can have your snare and snare in the x-OH, but not in your main OH. And that in the words of the SNL imitation Miley Cyrus is "Pretty Cool!" :)
__________________
Chris Neal :: South Plains College
.: Program Coordinator & Asst. Professor in Sound Technology
.: cneal@southplainscollege.edu
.: Pro Tools Certified Instructor
.: Pro Tools Expert Certified in Music
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-25-2011, 01:11 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,998
Default Re: Snare drum sound in superior drummer

Im going to start experimenting now thanks guys
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recording with Superior Drummer and V-Drum JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 07-18-2018 12:05 AM
Superior Drummer 2 can't find sound library tpann Windows 4 03-31-2015 03:22 PM
Superior Drummer: Doesnt sound right Rwilliams0190 Virtual Instruments 2 05-28-2010 01:10 PM
GOOD Snare Drum Sound bluesguy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-10-2005 12:27 PM
How to achieve "No One Knows" snare drum sound? Naagzh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-30-2004 11:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com